Peach Cobbler and Memories!

I’m a recipe junky! A cooking geek! I’ve got tons of cookbooks, cooking mags, hand written recipes, and files and files of faves on my computer, not to mention good ol’ Pinterest! I collect recipes like Sheldon collects comic books! So when a friend asked me if I would sit down with her and help her find some budget friendly recipes she could feed her family, I knew I had the stuff and I could think of no better way to spend a Monday afternoon than pouring through some of my favorite recipes and sharing my love for cooking and feeding those I love!

So, I pulled some of my favorite cook books from the shelves, including a well worn family cookbook that had seen better days, baked a peach cobbler,( which we never got around to eating), and waited with anticipation. I don’t know if I was any help to her but it was so much fun for me to re-discover some old favorites that I’d almost forgotten about! *gasp* Pouring over these beloved recipes was, for me, like a walk down memory lane. Memories of family dinners, and/or the family members who made them came flooding back!

I uncovered so many favorites that, rest assured, will appear on the menus in the coming weeks. In listening to my friend describe dishes that her family likes or that she had tried I also got a lot of new ideas! Oh if every Monday could be so much fun! It was a really great time.

Since you weren’t able to join us I thought I’d include one of my favorite recipes here. That cobbler I mentioned in the beginning of this post. This is the cobbler topping that my Aunt Mary Lou made for all of her cobblers and it is SO GOOD! Crunchy and sweet so very simple! Here’s the recipe:

1 C. Flour
1 C. Sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 pinch of salt
1 egg, slightly beaten
1/3 C. vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 375. Mix together the dry ingredients. Add the egg and work it into the dry ingredients with a fork until you have a mixture resembling coarse meal. Sprinkle the mixture over top of your fruit and drizzle the vegetable oil over top. Bake until crust is lightly browned and the filling is bubbly.

This amount will cover a 9×13 pan nicely or will make a nice thick crust for a 9×9 pan.

Serve it up with a big glass of milk or a mug of Joe and enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You were a lot of help, I think we just need more time. I think this needs to be a monthly thing. Next time maybe we can make a menu for a week, I have never been very good at that part. Thanks again and yes I had a good time and found a few recipes to start off with.

    Like

  2. That would be fun Martha. Now that I know what your likes and dislikes are it should be easy to do! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

