Old Fashioned Beef Stew

Tonight it was Beef Stew for Two! It wasn’t really planned that way, but an unexpected musical practice, followed by a low brass sectional, followed immediately by a 2 hour marching band practice meant McDonald’s dropped by the school for the kids and MORE STEW for the hubs and I.

This stew recipe is one I’ve used for years. It was something I got out of a magazine somewhere. Maybe a Taste of Home? I can’t really remember but I do remember the taste, tender beef, buttery-soft potatoes, soft, but not mushy, cooked carrots and a gravy that is perfect every time. EVERY TIME. It truly is no fail people. OH and tonight I added some mushrooms. They were so good I actually proposed marriage to myself right there at the table! Don’t let the title fool you. This is NOT your mother’s beef stew.

The recipe is meant to be cooked in a slow cooker and it comes out beautifully if you do, nice and thick like a stew should be. I’m not a real fan of the slow cooker though and I cook mine in my cast iron Dutch oven. Honestly, almost anything you can cook in a slow cooker, I can cook in my cast iron Dutch oven, and in my opinion, it will taste better! 🙂 But this one is really good either way.

Old Fashioned Beef Stew

1 T. oil or Pam spray
1 ½ lb stew meat
12 oz Mushrooms
Baby Carrots
Red potatoes quartered
Onion quartered
3 C. V-8 vegetable juice
3 T. quick tapioca
1 envelope onion soup mix
1 tsp. beef bouillon
1/8 tsp garlic powder
¼ tsp pepper
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

Brown the stew meat in 1 T. of olive oil in a skillet or in the bottom of your Dutch oven. (This is key) You will probably need to do this in 2 batches as you do not want to crowd the pot or skillet to ensure proper browning of the meat. Add the browned meat back into the Dutch oven if that is what you are using or place it in the crock of your slow cooker.

At this point it becomes REALLY simple. Just dump all of the remaining ingredients to the pot and stir it around. For the Dutch oven cook at 300-degrees F. for 3-4 hours or until the potatoes are really tender. For the slow cooker cook on low 8 to 10 hours. The Tapioca helps the stew to thicken as it cooks so it’s perfect when you take it out.

Serve with bread or rolls. I was going to make Mile High Biscuits but the recipe yields 15 and there were only 2 of us and we both have a weakness for soft, fluffy biscuits, I went with rolls and will save this found recipe for another day.

So, it’s supposed to be a rainy Saturday in our neck of the woods. Sounds like the perfect opportunity to try some delicious stew! I hope you all enjoy it as much as we do!

Now for a little tease. Anyone know what I might do with these?

Stay tuned…

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

