Not So Mile High Biscuits and Gravy or Why I Don’t Cook Breakfast.

It’s a miserable rainy morning here and the kiddos have a big marching band competition 2 hours from home today (also in the rain) so I thought I’d send them off with a hearty breakfast of biscuits and gravy. OK that and I was anxious to try the Mile High Biscuit recipe I found.

Unfortunately the biscuits did not measure up to their name. I fear that was because 1) my baking powder may have been too old and 2) I put in 2 eggs instead of 1. (this would be a good place to mention that I’m not a morning person which is why cold cereal is a staple in our home.) But their flavor was really good, flaky and almost buttery. In all, I think it’s a good recipe, if your ingredients are fresh and you know how to read. I think enough of it that I’m including it in this post.

Mile High Biscuits
3 C. All Purpose Flour
1/4 C. Sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp Cream of Tarter
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 C Shortening or Lard
1 Egg, beaten
1 1/4 C Milk

Combine the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Cut shortening or lard until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

Add egg and milk a little at a time; mixing until dough forms a ball. Turn dough out on a lightly floured surface and kneed 10-12 times only. Keep in mind that you do not want to over work your dough nor do you want it to be too dry or your biscuits will be dry and heavy.

Roll out to 3/4 inch thickness and cut with a floured cutter

Place on a lightly greased baking sheet and bake at 475 degrees F. for 12-15 minutes or until light golden brown.

While your biscuits are baking you can start the Sausage Gravy. Gravy has a lot of variables to it as far as amounts of ingredients and I don’t measure so these instructions are not going to be precise so hold on!

Sausage Gravy

1 lb Pork Sausage
Extra grease if needed
Scant 2/3 C of flour
Salt and Pepper to taste

Brown your pork sausage in a skillet adding fat or oil as necessary. We buy a hog off of a local farmer and have it processed locally and our sausage is REALLY lean, like no fat left in the skillet when it’s done cooking so I added a little bit of lard. The goal here is to have about 2 T. of oil left in the skillet when the browning is done.

Remove browned sausage to a bowl and set aside. Sprinkle in enough flour to make a thick paste. This is called making a roux. Stir this thick mixture for about a minute or so.

Gradually add milk to the roux to thin it out. When you first hit the hot pan with milk the roux will actually tighten up some. Don’t be alarmed. Continue to add milk and stir continually until your gravy is the desired thickness. Add the sausage back in and salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with biscuits! The fact that my biscuits didn’t rise to the occasion didn’t stop my family from enjoying the breakfast! They just used more biscuits in their bowl!

So, now you know I’m fallible and I don’t mind sharing my mistakes here. I do intend to make the biscuits again this week for dinner, when I’m functional. I really do think they have potential to be a keeper recipe. I’ll keep you posted on that. 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. liz hunt says:

    baking powder is listed twice-does one need to be baking soda? Thanks! : )

    Like

  2. Nope! That was a well duh moment on my part! I’ve fixed it though! Thanks for pointing that out! I really don’t function well in the morning I guess! 🙂 Probably didn’t help to have the kids and the hubster around asking me things while I was writing the post either. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

