Mom’s Shepherd’s Pie

Tonight I made an old family favorite. A recipe created by my mother off of the descriptions my siblings and I gave her of our favorite lunch in grade school. They called it Shepherd’s Pie but there were no “icky” vegetables in the school’s version. LOL! Anyway, she nailed down a good facsimile of the dish that was a family favorite then and now. I’ve kept it exactly the same as mom, with the exception of the corn. We all like to mix corn into our portions, so I put corn in the meat mixture now just for convenience! Meat and potatoes, the quintessential comfort food. It’s the perfect dish for a cold, rainy night like we are having tonight. 🙂

    Ingredients:

2 lb ground meat (Pork or Beef, your choice)
1 Jar of Pizza Sauce
1 Can of whole kernel corn, drained (Optional)

    Mashed Potato Topping:

6-8 medium red potatoes
1/4 C. Butter
1 egg
Milk as needed
Salt and Pepper to taste

Begin by peeling and chopping your potatoes.

Put the potatoes in a pot and add just enough water to cover the potatoes.

While the potatoes are boiling, begin browning your meat. Once it is browned, drain and add in the corn (optional) and the pizza sauce.

Once potatoes are fork tender, drain them and return them to the pot you cooked them in or place them in the bowl of your standing mixer. Add the butter and beat until fluffy. Then add in enough milk to make the potatoes thin enough to be spread but thick enough to make small peaks. Finally beat in the egg. The egg will help the potatoes brown in the oven.

Spread meat mixture in the bottom of a 9×13 glass pan. Spread the mashed potatoes over the meat mixture and use your spoon or spatula to form little peaks. You could also pipe this on if you wished.

Bake at 350-degrees for about 20 minutes or until the tips of the potatoes start to brown and the meat mixture is bubbly. Let set about 15 minutes before serving.

I would say it serves 6 but there are only 4 of us and they made it disappear! I guess it might serve more if 2 of them aren’t teenagers! 🙂 I’ve put the recipe in it’s entirety below without the pics for ease of printing! Hope your family enjoys it as much as ours does!

    Ingredients:

2 lb ground meat (Pork or Beef, your choice)
1 Jar of Pizza Sauce
1 Can of whole kernel corn, drained (Optional)

    Mashed Potato Topping:

6-8 medium red potatoes, peeled and cut into 2-inch chunks
1/4 C. Butter
1 egg
Milk as needed
Salt and Pepper to taste

1. Place potatoes in large pot. Add just enough water to cover. Set on high heat and bring to a boil, uncovered.
2. While potatoes cook, begin browning meat in a skillet over medium high heat. Cook and stir until meat is cooked through.
3. Drain meat and add the corn and pizza sauce.
4. Once potatoes are fork-tender, drain the water from them. Return them to the pot or to the bowl of your stand mixer.
5. Add butter and whip potatoes with mixer until they are fluffy. Adding milk as needed to get a nice consistency. What you are going for here is something in the area of stiff peaks.
6. Add egg and beat well. The egg is to help the potatoes brown a little in the oven. Salt and pepper to taste.
7. To assemble the “pie” place meet mixture in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish. Top with potatoes, creating those little peaks on top as you go. These are going to brown up and get get a little crispy in the oven.
8. Bake in a 350-degree oven until the potatoes brown up a bit and the meat mixture is bubbly.
9. Let it set for about 15 minutes before serving as it will be SUPER hot.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say excellent blog!

    Like

    1. I’m sorry you had difficulty with your first post. They usually come to me for approval but this is the first notification I’ve gotten concerning a comment from you. Thank you for the kind words though. I hope you continue to enjoy my blog. It’s kind of a new thing for me and I’m learning as I go. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. Hello terrific blog! Does running a blog such as this take a lot of work?
    I have virtually no expertise in coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyway, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share.

    I know this is off subject nevertheless I simply wanted to ask.
    Thanks!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. It takes time but not much else. Time and a topic and you are off and running. WordPress makes it pretty easy and it’s free unless you want the upgrade. I’m using the free version. No coding necessary really. Give it a try and post a link when you get going. I’d love to see what you come up with! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

