Beef Tips and Mushrooms Over Aunt Lola’s Noodles.

Had the rare quiet evening where everyone was home by 5 p.m. last night. It was nice. I took the opportunity of an unhurried evening to make a full meal and to show their appreciation the family cleaned ate it all up!

The menu consisted of Beef Tips and Mushrooms in Gravy served over homemade noodles, Brussel’s Sprouts with Bacon and Balsamic Vinegar, and I took another shot at the Mile High Biscuits using the right amount of ingredients. I must say, it made a difference, but I still need to get fresh baking powder.

The Beef Tips & Mushrooms were sort of an experiment. I couldn’t find a recipe I liked at all so I free styled it. It turned out great and the family has asked me to put it in the rotation again soon! The only thing I would change next time is to serve it over rice instead of noodles. The noodles were great, but I felt they were a little heavy.

Here’s that recipe:
1.5 lbs of Beef Stew Meat
1/2 of a medium onion, diced
1/2 to 1 tsp of dried oregano depending on taste
1-2 cloves of garlic minced
16 oz of whole mushrooms, your choice. Button Mushrooms were our only choice at the grocery store last week, and they were good, but I think a more earthy mushroom would be even better!
3 C. of Beef Stock
3 T. of Quick Cooking Tapioca
Salt and Pepper to taste

1. Sprinkle salt and pepper on stew meat and toss it around a bit. In a cast iron Dutch oven, brown the meat in olive oil in small batches.

2. Sautee onions and mushrooms in the remaining oil.

3. Add the beef broth and bring to a boil. Add in meat and Tapioca and Oregano. Salt and pepper.

4. Pop it into the oven at 300-degrees for 3 hours and just let it cook down. Stir occasionally and add more beef broth if it seems to be getting too thick. Taste for flavor and add more seasoning if necessary. Serve over rice or noodles.

Here’s a quick rundown on how to make homemade noodles. This is my Aunt Lola’s recipe.

3 C. Flour
1 Egg
1-2 T. Water
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
(This makes a small batch. I made the recipe twice to get the amount I wanted. I worked it in two batches due to space constraints, but it could easily be doubled.)

Mix your dry ingredients together. Then make a well in the dry ingredients.

Add the Egg and 1 T water into the well and begin to mix. I do this on the counter top and I do it with my hands. It’s messy but I like it. 🙂 You could do this in a bowl with a wooden spoon if you like.

Work the ingredients until you have formed a stiff dough. This may take time and you may think it will not happen but be patient. It will come together as you work it. You can add a little more water as you go if needed but be careful not to make it too wet.

Roll the dough out to the thickness you desire for your noodles. Cut to the width and length you desire and leave to dry.

At this point you can let them dry all the way through and store them in an air tight container or you can let them dry for a few hours (they don’t have to be completely dried through) and then cook them in salted, boiling water for about 20 min.

These noodles are great in chicken and noodles or beef and noodles too! A very hearty noodle!

The Brussel’s Sprout recipe is a long time favorite of ours from Rachael Ray. She uses Pancetta in hers, but that’s not readily available in my area and when I do find it it’s just not affordable. Bacon works just as well, especially when it is a very “hamy” bacon like ours is. You can find her recipe here: http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/brussels-sprouts-with-pancetta-and-balsamic-vinegar/print/

The biscuits did come out better this time. I’m certain with fresh baking powder we have a winner. I’ve got the bp on the shopping list this week so I’ll be making them again soon. I promise!

Leave a Reply

