Let’s Do Lunch!

I just had a glass of milk, an apple, and a peanut butter bar for lunch. I would love to say that it’s because it’s Friday and the cupboards are bare, but I’m afraid this has become a bit of a BAD habit for me lately. In fact, the milk and apple were an improvement over past days, where a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup or a Swiss Cake roll has attempted to pass as lunch. But today, with a burning stomach and a sluggish feeling, I proclaim here and now that I HAVE HAD ENOUGH!

I plan dinner and shop for dinners, the hubs gets his lunch things and the kids eat at school but I never plan on anything more than left overs for myself, and lately, there haven’t been many of those! Well no more! Now I will plan lunch menus for myself! I will purchase the items I need for my lunch without guilt, which is usually what has stopped me from doing this in the past. It’s silly! What good am I to the family if I’m not well fueled?

I’m posting this menu here on the blog so that I have to be accountable to my promise to take better care of me. After all if I tell all of you I’m going to do this then I have to do this right? But more than that, I cannot imagine that I am the only one in this boat. Judging from the number of pins I see on Pinterest for healthy lunches, I KNOW I’m not alone in this one. So, by posting these lunch menus here, I’m not only making good on my comittment to a healthier me, I’m looking to inspire YOU too!

So, without further ado, here are my lunch pics for the coming week:

Monday: Tuna and Tomato Melt, Orange

Tuesday: Peanut Butter on Toast, Salad, Cottage Cheese and Apple

Wednesday: Shrimp Wrap, Salad with Craisins, Feta Cheese, and Almond Slivers, 1/2 Banana

Thursday: Grilled Apple & Goat Cheese Sandwich, Mixed Veggies and Hummus

Friday: Marinated Chicken Pita Sandwich, Cottage Cheese, Veggies and Orange Slices

Let’s Do Lunch!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. liz hunt says:

    oh my gosh-I thought my family were the only ones who enjoyed craisins on a salad!! Good for you for taking care of yourself-I must admit I do the same thing-the hubs gets leftovers in his lunch, the girl eats lunch at school, but me? I usually eat whatever is handy-which is often not too healthy.

    Like

    1. Then join me for lunch! 🙂 Make your own menu and shop for the ingredients! I’m hoping this gets me on the track to feeling better and having more energy. Those grandbabies of mine need a Yaya who can play and play and play! And my kids need a momma who can keep up!

      Like

  2. Tina says:

    Holy moly! Can you make my lunch, too?! That sounds like a great menu! I try to do the same. I make batches of stuff I can freeze and make my own lean cuisines for the week! I posted some recipes in my blog (http://christinaellen2.wordpress.com/, if you’re interested). Lunch is a great meal for maintaining energy during the day!

    Like

  3. LOL! Let’s see if I can manage to make lunch for myself all week this week first! 🙂 We have to get creative to take care of ourselves don’t we? Thanks for your comment and welcome to the table! 🙂 You’ve got a pretty cool blog going yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

