Lunch and Dinner Menus

We’re coming up on a crazy couple of weeks here. The kids are headed into production week for the school musical. The show closes on a Saturday, we’ve got Family Funday Sunday and the kids leave on a band trip for Disney on Monday! They return the Sunday after Thanksgiving and then hit the ground running Monday with production week for Madrigal performances. In that time we are celebrating 3 birthdays and I have a Jester costume and a cloak to sew for the kids before their return from Disney!

Good thing I’ve got 2 weeks worth of menus planned then huh? Whew! This week and next I plan to add in a snack. I find I’m getting rather hungry between breakfast and lunch and that hunger is a great motivator for me to fall back on old habits and brush off the meal plan. I went back to my days with Gestational Diabetes and the plan that was laid out for me then and snacks were all important to making it to the next meal. Back then I got 2 snacks a day. I’m just going to try one this week and see how that works. I don’t seem to be needing anything to get to the evening meal so it may be all I need. I have to say, I like having all of the thinking done ahead of time. It’s really worked so far and I do feel more energetic throughout my day!

I’ve also noticed that I do not drink water like I should and it’s not because I don’t like water, I do. In fact, I am not a big fan of much else but milk and tea (and the occasional Martini). The problem is that I get busy and then by late afternoon I find I’m parched and spend the rest of the time trying to catch up. SO, I’m going to try filling two 32-oz. sports bottles with water in the morning, one for the morning and one for the afternoon. This way the water is there, portable and ready to go when I am. We’ll see how this works for me. All I know is I feel better when I’m hydrated and my skin is better too. 🙂

Here are my menus for lunch and dinner for the coming week:

Lunch and Snacks:

Monday:

Snack – A little bit of granola, 1/2 banana and milk

Lunch – Egg Sandwich, Tomato Soup, Mandarin Oranges and Milk

Tuesday:

Snack – Cheese stick and fruit

Lunch – Quinoa with black beans, carrots, mushrooms, corn and zucchini, Apple, Milk

Wednesday:

Snack – Banana with Peanut Butter and Milk

Lunch – Baked Sweet Potato stuffed with Feta, Sun Dried Tomatoes, and Olives, Orange, Milk

Thursday:

Snack – Fruit with Vanilla Yogurt

Lunch – Sauteed Shrimp with left over fried rice from Wed. night’s dinner, Fruit salad

Friday:

Snack – Fruit and Cheese Sticks

Lunch – Grilled Tomato, Turkey and Cheese Sandwich with Salad and an Orange.

I might mention here that I only plan the lunches through the week because on the weekend when the family is here I tend to fix for us all and don’t have the problem of eating junk. It’s during the week that I neglect to look after myself.

Dinner Menus:

Monday: Beef and Mushroom Pot Pies and Corn

Tuesday: Chicken Biscuit Sandwiches with Fried Cabbage

Wednesday: Chicken Fried Rice with Banana and Mandarin Orange Salad

Thursday: Pot Roast with Potatoes, Carrots and Salad

Friday: Chicken and Dumplings with Mashed Potatoes and Corn

Saturday: Left-over Pot Roast Po-Boys

Sunday: Family Funday Sunday!

What’s on YOUR table this week? Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

