What’s On Momma T’s Table This Week?

This week’s challenge: figure out how to cook for TWO again, as the kids will be off for a week of fun in the sun at Disney World with the marching band.

You see, this is an issue for me as I’ve been cooking for a mob for more years than I can count! I’ve got four kids, and they’ve got friends. When extended family gets together we number 18 or more. Once I even prepared dinner for 15 college students on last minute’s notice after an ice storm knocked out power at their dorm! I cook in large quantities. Period. So just figuring out what to fix and how much for just the hubs and I has been interesting. I will also have him home for lunch some too so I’ve got to fix for my more adventurous tastes and his less-adventurous tastes. So, here are my menus for this week. It looks good on paper. Hopefully we don’t enjoy it so much we won’t want the kids to come home. LOL!

My water challenge has gone well this week. I’ve found that when I keep up on the water consumption I’m not needing a snack as often. I’m keeping them in the line up though so I’ve got the options.

Lunch and Snacks:

Monday:

Snack – Apple slices with Peanut Butter

Lunch – GOOD Grilled Cheese and Tomato Tortellini Soup

Tuesday:

Snack – Pretzels and Hummus

Lunch – Teriyaki Chicken Wings with Steamed Rice and Broccoli, Mandarin Oranges, Milk

Wednesday:

Snack: Cheese Stick and Fruit

Lunch: Hard boiled egg, apple slices, piece of crusty bread with sharp cheddar cheese and salami with mustard (a strange arrangement I know but I found this idea on Pinterest of putting together a variety of “little bits” to munch for lunch and thought I’d give it a try).

Thursday:

Thanksgiving, I’ll eat what I like! 🙂

Friday:

Snack: Cheese and Crackers

Lunch: Stuffed Subs

Dinner Menus:

Monday – Balsamic and Brown Sugar Salmon with Mushroom, Garlic and Sun-dried Tomato Pearled Cous-Cous

Tuesday – Left over Pot Roast Po’Boys with fries and fried cabbage (moved here from Saturday as our Saturday is going to be too busy for dinner).

This is also the day we will put our Thanksgiving Turkey in the brine!

Wednesday – Pan Seared Steaks, Baked Potatoes and Salad

Thursday – Thanksgiving dinner at my Parents. We’re frying the turkey and making the dressing!

Friday – Turkey and Macaroni with Brussels Sprouts and Cauliflower

Saturday – Out for Small Business Saturday! We plan to shop local stores and eat at a local restaurant.

Sunday – Chicken Teriyaki for two

So there you have it! Looking forward to the week ahead and the challenges it brings. What’s on your table this week?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Michelle M says:

    Do have any other ideas for what to do with Quinoa?

    Like

    1. There are many! I have some posted on my Pinterest boards. Super Sides and Meat Alternatives I think. You can use it much like you would cous-cous or a small grain pasta too. I’m still exploring all the possibilities, but it sure does go a long way!

      Like

  2. Cyndi says:

    It is hard to cook for a smaller number. I often make half a recipe of something so that there are not so many leftovers as it seems that my family does not like leftovers, unless they are in some new/other recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

