What’s On Momma T’s Table This Week?

What a CRAZY busy time it has been! I don’t know where this week went, but I know I spent the bulk of it at the sewing machine creating a jester costume for my tall slender son and a cloak for my daughter to wear over her Madrigal gown. Happily both are done and I am able to focus on daily life again.

Good thing too! I did NOT get menus planned for dinners or lunches last week and it has come back to haunt me this week. With all of the kids comings and goings (they arrived back from Disney at 12:14 a.m. Monday and had to go to school later that morning) and the sewing projects I found myself getting completely absorbed in what I was doing and not paying attention to time or planning. The result was falling back to my old ways of grabbing something for lunch. Yesterday I had a Snickers bar and 2 Reese’s Peanut Butter cups for my breakfast. Dinners have been courtesy of McDonald’s and Michael’s Italian Feast simply because of the crazy time schedules and lack of planning and waiting to the last minute. At first I kicked myself for failing, but I didn’t fail. True, I dropped the ball and succumbed to the chaos around me, but I am not allowing that to knock me off kilter. I’m not going back to my bad habits permanently. I’m not allowing it to defeat me. I have a chance to get back on track and I’m taking it!

This week I’m keeping the lunches simple with sandwiches and the like. I think this will help. Dinners this week are coming from my collection of “homey” cookbooks. You know those cookbooks sold as fundraisers by churches, home extension groups and the like? I’ve got a few them. 🙂 Two of them are family cookbooks that I put together back in the early 90’s. One of them for Paul’s family and one of them for my Mom’s family, the Dotson’s.

Truth is I have a TON of cookbooks on the shelves and with the internet and pinterest I find that I’m not taking them down off the shelf and paging through them as often as I used to. Oh, I have my go to sources but yeah, I’ve found myself going for the convenience of the electronic searches and my beloved Pinterest. So, I decided to gather up these volumes of tried and true recipes and page through them for my menu planning this week.

What a treasure hunt planning was this week! In a cookbook produced by my Aunt Lola’s woman’s church group the bottoms of the pages have various scriptures on them. Of course the two I run into are these:

“She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar. She gets up while it is still dark; she provides food for her family and portions for her servant girls.” – Proverbs 30:14-15

“She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.” – Proverbs 31:27

Oh that Proverbs woman, reminding me of my shortfalls. Wait, I’ve been up in the dark mornings all week, I’ve brought food from afar (McDonald’s and Michael’s are down the road a piece), I’ve made sure everyone was fed and I’ve not been idle this week! I wonder if that Proverbs girl was as tired as I am? Probably. 🙂

Another book I was going through was one put together by my oldest son’s 6th grade class in 1996. What a treat that was! Paging through I saw the names of classmates and teachers who, until that moment, had quietly slipped from my memory.

Almost all of the books have at least one recipe for “Party Potatoes” and another for “Tater-tot Casserole”! LOL! Timeless recipes I guess. In all, it was fun to be reminded of recipes that were placed by the wayside and the people who have walked through my life. I’m very excited that some of them will be “guests” at my table this week as I feed my family.

So, without further ado, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table this week!

Lunches:

Monday – Bacon Cheddar Pear Panini

Tuesday – Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Wednesday – Toasted Mozzarella and Tomato Sandwich

Thursday – Spinach salad with almonds, onions, Feta cheese and pears

Friday – Tuna melt with tomatoes and olives

Dinners:

Sunday:

  • Burgers

  • Parmesan Roasted Potatoes (McHenry Family Cookbook)
  • Garden Surprise Casserole (Sparland Twilighter’s Homemakers Extension Association)
  • Fried Pickles (Save Our Sister’s Cookbook)

Monday:

  • Marinated Grilled Chicken
  • Baked Potatoes
  • Cucumber Salad (Dotson Family Cookbook)

Tuesday:

  • Chicken and Rice Bake (Dotson Family Cookbook)
  • Broccoli Salad (6th Grade Cookbook)

Wednesday:

  • Oven Stew (Bartonville Christian Woman’s Auxiliary)
  • Mile High Biscuits (Yes, I’m trying them again!)

Thursday:

  • Beer-Cheese Soup (Dotson Family Cookbook)
  • Spinach Enchiladas (Dotson Family Cookbook)

Friday:

  • Mexican Casserole (McHenry Family Cookbook)

Saturday:

  • Out

Sunday:

  • Beef and Noodles (Dotson Family Cookbook)
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Corn

So there you have it! Do you have any of these “homey” cookbooks? Why not page through them and see what you find! With the giving season coming up, you might also consider finding one of these treasures and giving that as a gift to the foodie on your list. You’ll be helping an organization and giving something unique! Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

