Lunch With a Far-away Friend

Today’s lunch was nothing special, just a Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich. Simple, comforting food. However, today’s lunch got a bit of a boost thanks to a special and unexpected package that landed on my doorstep late yesterday afternoon.

Now it’s no big deal to have a package dropped at my doorstep this time of year. I’m not real big fan of crowds or shopping so I do almost all of my shopping at home, on my couch, at the computer. As such, the UPS, FedEx and Postman are like family members this time of year, but yesterday’s package was for ME! I mean ACTUALLY for ME. Not something I’d ordered, but a package sent to ME by someone else, JUST BECAUSE!

What a treat to receive this package! A glance at the return address revealed it was from a friend out East. I opened it to find a beautiful, heartfelt card, some chocolate and some tea and a set of the most wonderful napkins with a quite from Alice Roosevelt Longworth that said,

“I have a simple philosophy. Fill what’s empty. Empty what’s full. And scratch where it itches.”

I think Alice and I could have been good friends!

Immediately I knew what I had to do with these items! They would become a part of my lunch. I would lunch with my far away friend! And so, the items were added to my lunch today and they indeed made it a very special time of reflection on our friendship and on friendship in general as well as those random acts of kindness that we need to be more a part of, both on the giving and the receiving end!

So, here’s my lunch for today. A simple Grilled PB and Banana, Salad, Cheese Stick and heaping helping of Friendship!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Best lunch I’ve had so far thanks to this surprise! Do you have a far-away friend who could use a package, letter or call from you? I’ll bet you do! See what you can do today to make their tomorrow a little brighter!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cyndi says:

    What a sweet suprise to someone who deserves it!

    Like

    1. Thanks Cyndi. I’m not sure I am all that deserving, but it certainly was sweet! 🙂 And there was another chocolate bar and a lot of tea so the warm fuzzy feeling will last a while! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

