A Cooks Surprise!

The mail man just dropped off the most WONDERFUL surprise at my doorstep! A delightful sight to my eyes! He brought this cute vintage recipe box I ordered from eBay.

Image

Isn’t it cute? I ordered it to do a Pinterest project with which I will probably post here later. Obviously this isn’t the surprise though right? I mean, I ordered it so I had to KNOW it was coming! No, my people, this was not at all the surprise, but when I opened it, THIS is what I found…

Image

25 hand written recipes and 4 more torn from a cookbook! I’m in HEAVEN! There is nothing I love more than tried and true recipes. For me, there’s something about holding an old, handwritten recipe card in my hand knowing that some other person thought enough about the recipe to write it out to preserve it. There’s a real connection there. I wonder if they loved cooking and feeding others as much as I do. I wonder what they looked like, how old they were, did they wear aprons? Probably all crazy thinking to most people, but the handwritten cards are true treasures to me.

The recipes are mostly written on cards though some are on scraps of paper. I can just picture the owner chatting on the phone with a friend, taking down a recipe that friend had made for a church function or a card night or a family gathering. There are notes on some of them. For instance at the top of a scrap of paper for Judy’s Hot Dish is written, “Kulla – had it here many times and it was good.” At the bottom “This was very good.” The writing in different hand and a different color of ink, let’s the reader know that this person enjoyed the meal. šŸ™‚

Many of them bear the names of the person they got the recipe from. Like Bob and Beatrice and Helen and Jane. One is titled Mother’s Waffle’s and Jante’s Mother’s Carrot Cake. Keepsakes. It would seem that this person had one cook in particular, that they liked very much as 8 of the recipes bear the name of Merel. They sound like good ones too!

I can hardly wait to sort and file them in my own recipe box! You can believe that some of them will be making appearances in upcoming menus right here on this page! SO EXCITED!

I’m off now to put my hands in some bread dough and connect with my grandmother. šŸ™‚

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nicola O. says:

    Oh, that does sound wonderful. There is so much to love about the digital age (like the fact that I’m talking to you right now) but there’s just something about that physical card, that other cooks have touched and jotted and spilled on. šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Indeed! šŸ™‚ More precious than gold!

      Like

  2. Cyndi says:

    You are too sweet!

    Like

    1. Aww..thanks! You too Cyndi. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

