What’s On Momma T’s Table the week of 1/13/13

I must confess that this week has not been a very good one at the table when it came to sitting down and eating what was planned. Getting back into the swing of sending the kids back to school and last minute changes to schedules leaving sometimes only 20 minutes to feed everyone meant scrapping the plan for something faster and less healthy I’m afraid. It is clear that more careful planning of dishes that can be ready to serve when necessary will be key in the coming weeks.

This weeks challenge, however, will be not so much with the after school activities as it will with the fact that it is finals week for my kids. This means early dismissal and no lunches for two days this week and a likelihood that there will be some extra mouths to feed lunch to at least one of those two days if not both. I’ve built in some easy, teen friendly foods for those days that can be prepared quickly as I’m sure that the notice will be last minute! (It always is!) 🙂

I’ve also been faltering a bit on my pledge to myself to sit down and eat a meal at lunch time too. It started by migrating from the table to the couch with just a sandwich or something. I’m not proud of it and I aim to fix it right away. You will see more detail present in my lunch menu again to keep me on task.

So, without further ado, here’s what’s on Momma T’s very busy table THIS week:

LUNCH:

Monday – Open-faced English Muffin with Spinach, Tomato, Hard Boiled Egg and Cheese; Fruit and Milk

Tuesday – Peanut Butter, Strawberry and Granola Wrap with Carrots and Milk

Wednesday – Grilled Cheese with Tomato Basil Soup and Fruit And Milk

Thursday – ME: Hummus and Veggie Bagel, Apple and Milk THEM: Sloppy Joes And Chips

Friday – ME: Turkey Sandwich, Veggies and Hummus and Milk THEM: French Bread Pizza

DINNERS:

Monday – Chicken Tacos

Tuesday – Sauer Kraut, Sausages and Mashed Potatoes

Wednesday – Tomato Tortellini Soup and Loaded Baked Potato Grilled Cheese

Thursday – Hamburger Casserole (from my recipe box) and Green Beans

Friday – OUT

Saturday – Chicken Gyros with Greek Baked Poatotes

Sunday – Chicken Picatta, Pasta and Fried Cabbage

It’s hard for me to admit failure when it comes to the week night meals but it’s necessary sometimes to bend when things just aren’t going right. Last week didn’t go as I had planned but it’s LAST week and it’s behind me. I’ve got a new week ahead and 7 opportunities to do better! 🙂

I hope you have a lovely week and that your table is full of good food and great conversation!

 

Leave a Reply

