What’s On Momma T’s Table The Week of 2/3/13 (and an apology)!

I’m not dead yet! No I’m not dead yet but I’ve had my hands more than full this week! Got the kids well and back to school about mid-week last week. They of course had lots of home work and make up work and rehearsals. That lead into a CRAZY busy weekend with speech regional competition, where the boy broke to finals with his humorous interpretation and went on to place 4th in that category. Now we’re on to Sectionals! No sooner than the awards were given than we had to whisk off to the theatre for Spamalot! A birthday gift for me and the oldest boy! We all had a great time, but we were exhausted!

Now the dear hubs is home sick and I’m about to lose my mind. Lysol and chicken soup are the staples of life now. Hoping this is where it stops. We were supposed to get together with boy #2 and his wife and our precious grandbabies last Wednesday and sickness prevented it. We rescheduled for this Wednesday but alas, our plans are once again dashed! đŸ˜¦

So, illness and activities have kept me from getting to the blog. Such a shame because I’ve had a lot I’ve wanted to share here this week. Fear not though, I shall share, those of you who have a subscription or who follow me on fb will just get a lot of notifications. It will be worth it and a lot of fun. I promise. đŸ™‚

Let’s start with the menu. I have to confess that I have never had such difficulty matching scheduled activities and meals and comings and goings planned out. For instance, dear daughter-in-law is a vegetarian. When we still thought that grandbabies would be over on Wed.  I needed a vegetarian dish that would hold as I had people eating in stages from 4 until 7 and that everyone would like so I didn’t have to cook more than one dish. I wanted all my time to spend with those babies after all! I finally decided on a vegetarian Crock Pot Lasagna. I planned to serve that with grilled veggie heroes on the side. Now that they won’t be here we will make the same thing but with meat and Italian grilled  cheese sandwiches because we still have a revolving door situation going on that night.

The rest of the week is just as crazy, even more so with the boy advancing to the Sectional’s and having to add practices to the schedule for that. But somehow I managed to put something together that I think will be good and good for us.

Sunday is Chinese New Year. We plan to get together with the family to make a recipe for Vegetable Egg Rolls that I found in a Southern Living cookbook of all places. They are really good but they take a lot of work if you do it alone. We plan to chop and stir fry and wrap and fry all afternoon then order out Chinese food to enjoy our egg rolls. We plan to make enough to divide up and send home with everyone too! They freeze well and are so good for snacking or for lunch!

OK, explanations and excuses out of the way, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table THIS week:

LUNCH:

Monday – Had Chicken Soup with the man

Tuesday – The man had Spaghetti-O’s *shudder*. I enjoyed a Hummus and Veggie Stuffed Pizza and Milk

Wednesday – Chopped Greek Chicken Salad

Thursday – Baked Chicken Tenders, Homemade Apple Sauce, Carrots and Milk

Friday – Leftover Lasagna Soup

DINNERS:

Sunday – Pork Chops, Apple Sauce, Potato/Cabbage Hash and Aunt Lola’s Corn Fritters

Monday – Hamburger’s and French Fries

Tuesday – Individual Chicken Pot Pies

Wednesday – Crock Pot Lasagna Soup and Italian Grilled Cheese

Thursday – Chicken and Spaghetti Leftovers from Bernardi’s Restaurant

Friday – Taco Lasagna

Saturday  – Dinner out for Two

Sunday – Egg roll extravaganza and Chinese take out

 

Leave a Reply

