Food for Thought – What’s On Momma T’s Table The Week Of 4/7/13!

It’s been a busy weekend and with the kids going back to school it’s a busy week ahead! Throw in a birthday celebration or two and we’ve got controlled chaos at best! At least the weather has turned around and it feels a bit more like Spring!

I had something of an epiphany today. You see, when we did the grocery shopping this weekend I was pleasantly surprised that the bill was pretty low. Just over $100 and considering that we were buying things for a birthday dinner I thought that wasn’t so bad, in fact, it was much lower than what it has been lately, even with my savvy coupon usage. It wasn’t until today that I discovered that I hadn’t planned out any menus for my lunch and this meant I had not shopped for my lunches. Here’s the remarkable part of the story folks: I actually sat here wondering if my lunches were adding that much more to the weekly grocery bill…as if it were a bad thing.

I started to feel GUILTY about it! I actually thought maybe I should go back to eating whatever prepared foods or junk I could find in the house. More to the point, I started to think about the fact that I had not planned or shopped for ME and so I assumed that I would probably just eat junk for TODAY’S lunch. That was that!

Then I asked myself “Why?” Why did I have this idea that a portion of the food bill shouldn’t be spent just on me? More to the point, why did I think that ALL of the difference was MY FAULT? Happily, something clicked in my brain and I started to think about the stock up I did on certain sales the past few weeks. That surely added more to the bill than we might have usually had. And yes, I do buy more fresh fruits and veggies, but I’m not the only one eating those. The kids and the hubs snack on those too! And while were at it, I made lunch for THREE last week instead of letting the kids junk out. It wasn’t all me and even if it were, aren’t I worth it? Isn’t it better that I eat well and take care of myself? The answer was YES!

With that, I went into the kitchen and scrounged around and created a big salad with endive, strawberries, left over grilled chicken, sunflower nuts and Parmesan cheese. I added a side of fruit salad from yesterday’s birthday celebration and I splurged with a cup (8 oz.) of chocolate milk! I did it! i took care of me! I was so pleased with myself for not caving! Afterward I sat down and finished planning my lunches for the week. (As you will see, it really wasn’t that difficult.)

So, without further ado, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table THIS week:

LUNCH:

Monday – Delicious big salad with chicken, fruit salad and chocolate milk ๐Ÿ™‚

Tuesday – My momma’s birthday. Taking her out to lunch!

Wednesday – Black Bean and Corn Salad (love this one. Can’t get enough!)

Thursday – Greek Tortilla Pizza

Friday – Lunch out with my baby sister. ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 

Dinner:

Sunday – Birthday Celebration for my 25 year old son – New York Strip Steaks on the grill, Hamburgers (for the non-steak eater), my homemade veggie burgers (for the non-meat eaters), marinated, grilled Portobello mushrooms, oven-roasted corn, garlic mashed potatoes, fruit salad, strawberry-rhubarb pie, sugar-free apple pie, and brownies. Can you believe all of this for 7 adults and 2 babies? Not a lot was leftover though.

Monday – Philly-Cheese Steak Stuffed Peppers and Fries

Tuesday – Quinoa Fajita Salad

Wednesday – Double Crunch Honey Garlic Pork Chops; roasted sweet potatoes and Brussels’s Sprouts

Thursday – Penne Alfredo and Chopped Salad

FridayDate Night

Saturday – French Dip Sandwiches with Roasted Veggies

Sunday – Mustard Roasted Chicken and Veggies

So there you have it! Lunches and Dinners for the week complete! Mommas, please take a little time to take care of yourselves this week! YOU ARE WORTH IT!

Leave a Reply

