Graduation Planner

As I’ve mentioned, far too many times probably, we are preparing to celebrate the graduation of our third child from high school. It’s kind of a big deal, I mean, we’ve survived getting yet another kid through the K-12 routine. Thirteen years X 3 and only 2 more years to go before this era of our lives is behind us. OK, we face 6 more years of college…so maybe this isn’t such a big deal after all, BUT celebrate we will.

Since this is such a busy time of year and since the graduate has the audacity to have a birthday in May (OK, I guess we can’t blame him for that), and since I’m older and more scatterbrained and since there is a LOT to get done…and maybe, just MAYBE, I am overly organized (I just don’t see how that’s possible) I have created a binder to help me make sure that we get the job done! The “job” I should point out is to carefully plan out his annual Fish Fry for his birthday, and his Graduation Open House in June followed later that same day by an After Party Cookout for him and his buddies.

Image

And I hope to tell you, I’ve taken a lot of flack and ribbing over it too! They’re just jealous I think. But, I thought there might be more people out there that would appreciate my organization so I thought I would share with you, my binder for planning the TWO graduation parties and the annual Memorial Day Weekend Fish Fry for the boy’s birthday. šŸ™‚

Ā 

Image

In the front pocket I keep important papers concerning the graduation ceremony, tickets for the ceremony, should it get moved indoors, and open house invitations to other grads parties. Right up front is the all important timeline. I’ve broken the tasks down into a weekly timeline so I can stay on schedule, merrily checking things off as I go!

Image

I’ve tabbed all of the pages so that the section I need is easy to find. Got to get to the page and make those check marks! šŸ™‚ Such a satisfying thing, checking something off a check list. Don’t you agree?

Image

I’ve made a section for each party, Birthday Fish Fry, Open House and the After Party.

Image

Image

Of course I’ve made out a menu for each party.

Image

I printed out and/or copied all of the recipes I will need so that I won’t be searching for them at the last minute.

Image

From the to-do lists and recipes I created master shopping lists. One for non-perishables and party supplies for ALL of the gatherings. As I get them, I check them off and make a note as to where I got them and where I’ve stashed them for later!

Image

For the perishable foods I broke that list into things that I can buy the week before and those things I need to get just days before.

Image

I’ve also included check lists for cleaning INSIDE and OUT. I went to the internet and found some indoor cleaning check lists that worked for me. This one had items on them that helped me think about the details in every room and a free printable.

Image

And this one gave me a daily task to those little pesky tasks that are always being put off.

Image

For the outside, I just walked around and took a look at what needed to be done, weeding, tilling, planting, painting, new steps for the porch. Yeah, the hubby loves that list! šŸ™‚ But bit by bit we are getting the jobs done! Will everything be accomplished by party time? Probably not, but what’s important will.

In all of my lists I made sure to include the things that need to be done as a part of our daily lives/routines. Things like planting our vegetable garden and daily cleaning tasks, so that they don’t get left behind.

Some have voiced their opinion that I should lump his birthday and graduation together. I say that none of his siblings had to lump it all together. They each got their own birthday without sharing it with another event. Besides the guest lists for each party are different to some extent. There are people invited to the open house who we would not invite to a birthday party (those are usually just close family). It’s this way because I want it this way and because I know the boy will enjoy his special days more this way.

There’s a lot to do. I just don’t want to forget a detail. I’m just that way. I don’t know if that makes me some sort of perfectionist, a control freak or if it’s even a bad thing. I just know it’s a thing that works for me. šŸ™‚

Ā 

Leave a Reply

