What’s On Momma T’s Table for the Week of 5/26/13

I don’t know about you, but this week just FLEW by. Didn’t get as much done as I might have wanted but I guess that I got anything done is a victory.

The coming week holds a lot of celebration for our family. This weekend is the boy’s 18th birthday. Sunday the very same boy graduates high school. The third of our children to do so. I can’t quite understand where the time has gone.

It is also Memorial Day. A day to remember those men and women who have given the ultimate sacrifice for our country’s freedom. I have 2 uncles, my father’s brother and a brother of my mother, who paid the ultimate price fighting for freedom on foreign soil. I never had the opportunity to know either of them because of this, and I always wonder what they would have been like. I wonder too what they would have thought about me and my family. I’ve heard stories told about them, but it’s not the same as knowing I don’t think. I am forever grateful that they stepped up and served our country but I sure wish I’d been given the chance to know these members of my family.

Thank you Pvt. George H. Dotson – WWII

Thank you Pvt. Eugene Gibson – MIA/Presumed Dead – Iron Triangle, Korea

So, as you plan your barbeques, and your kick off to summertime, please take a little time to remember those who have sacrificed it all and the families they left behind. There are wonderful ceremonies all over this country this weekend. Attend one of them. Fly your flag. Find away to say thank-you. I know we will be attending the parade and ceremony in our town.

Now, about those meals.

LUNCHES:

Monday – Hot Dogs and fixings

Tuesday – Hummus, veggie and Feta Pita

Wednesday – Turkey and Sun-dried Tomato Melt

Thursday – Egg Sandwiches

Friday – Savory Stuffed Sweet Potato

DINNERS:

Sunday – Grilled Pizza got bumped to Monday because the girl discovered a recipe (in World History Class of all places) that she want’s to make for the family. Who am I to say no to a guest cook in the kitchen? So Singapore Stir-Fry it is!

Monday – Grilled Pizza. (Umbrella’s should be at the ready)

Tuesday – Sloppy Joes, Fries and Oven-roasted Corn on the Cob

Wednesday – Grilled Cuban Sandwiches

Thursday – Grilled Chicken Soft Tacos

Friday – Spaghetti Bread and Salad

Saturday – Pork Chops, Grilled Potatoes, Salad

Sunday – Graduation Day. Dinner out, Grad’s choice

I hope all of you have a safe and happy holiday. May you enjoy good eats and even better conversations!

 

Leave a Reply

