What I’ve Done On My Summer Vacation…So Far

Sorry I’ve been MIA for a while. Summer has had us on the run and there’s not been a lot of time for blogging. I’m sure it’s been the same wherever you are too. Summer brings on a whole host of things we just don’t do in the other months. We go on vacations, we garden, we cook out and hopefully we take time to enjoy the weather, which here in the Midwest has been pretty nice for July! Last week we had the windows open and were enjoying that sweet, wonderful scent of summer. What a wonderful thing. This week we’re a little on the hot and muggy side, but for heaven’s sake, it’s July and we’re in Illinois! I think we’ve got to expect it.

We’ve been doing our fair share of summery things. We did a lot of sprucing up outside, creating a new patio for our grills, putting up railings and creating an “outdoor” living room on our porch and getting those gardens planted and weeded, a project that never seems to end.

We had a lovely graduation party for The Boy and The Girl has been busy with band and perfecting her driving skills so that she can get her license. As a family, we completed our 12th Relay for Life. The Boy just recently got his first car. Both have been preparing exhibits for the upcoming 4-H Fair. (Just 6 days kids!) 

Image

Of course we’ve been grilling out on that new patio, eating yummy things and enjoying cookouts with family and friends. This means I finally got the chance to use The Boy’s 4-H Welding project from last year!

Image

With the bathroom remodel finished we were able to move all of the construction material out of our living room and we’ve put up our dining room table once again. This is a special table belonging to my paternal grandmother. My father tells of playing beneath this table as a boy, as if it were his own fort. I’ve watched my children do the same. It’s a special piece for me, not only because of this story, but because I can sit here and imagine all of the family who came before me and sat here too, talking about their days, celebrating, sharing meals. For me, it always comes back to the table.

Image

We’ve managed to bring another table into the family this Summer too.

Image

This is a spool we’ve painted with chalk board paint! It’s a fun place to eat a meal or just sit and chat. The kids (and the adults too) enjoy drawing and writing on it. 🙂 It’s another good place to gather around. See? It’s about the table! Good things happen around the table.

I really wish I could slow it all down though. I feel as though summer is racing past with all of the “stuff” we have going on. It just seems like the days don’t last as long as they did when I was young.

Last week, as I was working on some 4-H stuff, I was sitting at the dining room table, enjoying the breeze coming through the windows.

Image

Suddenly I heard the neighbor kids cheering and clapping wildly. I turned to see that the youngest neighbor boy was peddling his bike down the slope behind their house – WITHOUT his training wheels! The scene brought back memories of how I spent my summers, learning to ride a 2-wheeler, learning to swim, and just plain old playing and cheering and running around the yard. I remember my kids doing it too, but it seems now we’re too busy. I miss those days. Those lazy, hazy, unscheduled days of summer. I suppose some if it has to do with getting older, having responsibilities, jobs, etc. I think we should start scheduling a lazy summer day or two into our summer though. Learn to do something new, or just “play” outside! Give that inner child a little time to play!

Leave a Reply

