What’s on Momma T’s Table the Week of 8/4/13

As usual, it’s been a busy couple of weeks around the table. 4-H fair has come and gone and the kids did well. The Boy’s Computer Programming project was selected to go to the State Fair and the Girl’s Computer Generated Art project was selected for State as well. A sign of the Computer generation?

Unfortunately, band camp interferes with the Girl being able to attend the state fair, but the Boy will go and represent 4-H and our family. We’ve only been for 16 years running now.

Last weekend was a busy one with the celebration of our twin grandbabies’ 2nd birthday and a lovely visit with two, long-time, friends who live too far away. If my weekends are going to be busy, this is the sort of busy I wish they would be.

Image

We girls had a good time catching up on all the time that passed. 😉 I also smoked a Pork Butt and made pulled pork barbeque which everyone seemed to enjoy! I will try and post that recipe later.

We’ve now gotten a week of band camp behind us. On Thursday I fed 20 kids from the high brass section a hamburger lunch! It was fun to have their giggling and chatter in the house again. 🙂

Now our attention turns toward back to school and more band camp. We are also facing a cut back in the Hubs’ hours and that means a cut in income, which means we need to cut back expenses wherever we can. With one returning to high school and another starting college, and all the fees that come with that, we have a challenge on our hands! I LOVE a good challenge!

I started by doing a detailed inventory of my pantries and freezer and I had the kids help so that they would see what we have that needs to be used! I’ve run on to some good sales, and I coupon, so I have found good deals and stocked up on some things. We have a lot of ground pork, fish, chicken, and about 18 bottles of salad dressing! LOL! I may have gone overboard there. I’ve also got a lot of pasta, pasta sauce, BBQ sauce and RICE. Oh my goodness, the rice! The garden is starting to produce pretty well too so we have SOME fresh fruits and veggies.

So, the challenge I put forth to the family this week: Shop from the pantry and plan meals around what we have on hand. I think we’ve come up with a lot of tasty dishes with good variety. As a result, our grocery list for this week only includes a few fresh ingredients and perishable items. In all we have 20 items on the list.

I have also made a list of items we are low on. Things I know we will be needing/using in the coming weeks/months. Stuff like chili beans, pumpkin, etc. That way I can look for deals on these items each week and can pick them up for less.

I’m  looking at cutting back in other ways too. Looking into making food for our pets as well as cutting back on our use of paper towels, cleaning wipes, and the like by replacing them with rags. Simple things. Old-fashioned things. Things I was raised with, but put aside for convenience.

Another way we are cutting back is by not eating out. On the weekends, we tend to eat breakfast out a lot. We’ve been known to grab lunch on the go too so I’m planning some breakfasts and lunches at home on the weekend.

While it is uncomfortable, and even a little scary to see our income drop for a time, I am thankful for the opportunity to evaluate how we live. We’ve always tried to live within our means, but in times like this, we see new ways to do it even better. Like I said, I LOVE a good challenge!

So, without further ado, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table this week:

BREAKFAST:

Saturday – Apple Fritter Cake

Sunday – Biscuits and gravy and scrambled eggs.

Saturday – Pancakes

LUNCH:

Saturday – Leftovers

Sunday – Grab-it-and-growl (figuring if you are hungry after a large, late breakfast, you can serve yourself).

Monday – Spaghetti Bread, using left over spaghetti

Tuesday – Chipped Beef on Toast

Wednesday – Pasta a la Momma

Thursday – Leftovers

Friday – Pizza Bread

Saturday – Grilled Cheese or Grilled Peanut Butter Sandwiches

DINNERS:

Saturday – Salmon Kabobs, Wild Rice Pilaf and Salad

Sunday – Jerk Chicken with Black Beans and Rice

Monday – Chicken and Mushroom Marsala with Bread

Tuesday – Pork Burgers with Macaroni and Cheese with Corn

Wednesday – The Girl’s Dinner – Asian Catfish with Parmesan Rice and Corn

Thursday – The Boy’s Dinner – He will be making his own concoction of Polish Sausage with Penne in a Lemon Sauce

Friday – Pork Patty Melts with The Pioneer Woman’s Crash Hot Potatoes and Salad

Saturday – Garlic Herb Chicken and Pasta with Broccoli

 That’s what’s going on around OUR table. What’s happening around yours?

 

 

Leave a Reply

