What’s On Momma T’s Table the Week of 8/18/13

As I mentioned last week, it’s been a busy week around the table! With Family Funday Sunday, and the start of school, working on 4-H records with some of my club members, and just getting used to a new routine we’ve had a lot on our plates! We are having a lot of fun doing it too!

Canning has kicked into high gear. I’ve got delicious food coming from the garden and found some tasty goodies at the market as well! Last Wednesday I decided to put up some corn. You know, do it while I still had cheap labor at home to help! 🙂

Image

I ended up putting up 8 pints of the yummy stuff! Mmmmm…that’s going to be good come winter!

ImageOn Monday I put up Dill Pickles in chips, spears and some whole! Those are going to be a nice treat too!

Image

And on Tuesday, I put up some pears I bought at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday! YUMMY! I think if the vendor is there this weekend I will buy more pears from him and put up some spiced pears next week!

Image

Today, I’m working on a canning project very near and dear to my heart: Pickled Watermelon Rinds. There will be a detailed post about this later today, or tomorrow. 😉 Putting up food in these little glass jars just lifts my spirits so!

Sunday we decided to meet for breakfast then go to the 3rd Sunday Market in Bloomington, where we found ourselves some nifty treasures. I’ll be checking a couple of things off my Pinterest to do list. I’m very excited!

Image

The start of the school year has gone smoothly so far. The Boy started at the local Jr. College Monday. He seems to like his classes and the school just fine. The Girl is settling into her Junior year of high school. She’d like to be done with the whole high school thing all together! She seems to think she’s ready to move on.

I am relishing my first day at home alone! Just me and the dog! I love my kids, but this is NICE. VERY nice! I’ve already gotten so much done today, and LOOK! I’m posting!

So far it’s been a good week at The Table. Now to get you caught up on the menus

BREAKFASTS:

Sunday – Stopped for breakfast at our favorite family restaurant!

Saturday – French Toast Roll-ups (a Pinterest find)

LUNCHES:

Sunday: Lunch at the 3rd Sunday Market

Monday: Just the Girl and I. Spinach Salad with Balsamic Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Feta Cheese

Tuesday: Sandwiches

Wednesday: Salad with left over Ranch Chicken from Tuesday Night’s Dinner, Fruit and Cheese

Thursday: Leftovers

Friday: Tuna Salad, Roasted New Potatoes, Tomatoes and Cottage Cheese

Saturday: Turkey Bacon Clubs with leftover grilled turkey from Friday’s Dinner

DINNER:

Sunday: We splurged on Pizza out. We were all too achy and sun burnt and tired to cook.

Monday: Penne with mushrooms, spinach, and Bocconcini in a marinara sauce

Tuesday: Chicken Ranch Tacos

Wednesday: Parmesan Crusted Fish, Homemade Chips Green Beans

Thursday: The Boy’s dinner: Chicken, Broccoli Pasta with Lemon Sauce

Friday: Grilled Turkey Breast, Baked Sweet Potatoes, Corn, Peaches

Saturday: Basalmic BBQ Glazed Chicken, Roasted Potatoes, Grilled Garlic Tomatoes and Salad

It’s been a great week so far at our table. Hope you are having as much fun at yours!

 

 

Leave a Reply

