What’s On Momma T’s Table the Week of 9/22/13

Yesterday marked the last, official, full day of Summer. My favorite season has come to an end. 😦 Here in the Midwest the there is already a chill in the air and it has not escaped my attention that the sunlit daytime is growing ever shorter.

We were fortunate to get to spend much of the day outside doing outdoor projects. The Hubs replaced the door sill that has been coming apart and tripping people up for a few years now. We worked in the garden too, removing the plants that had finished producing, picking what little was still there and cleaning everything up a little. It looks nice. And we’ve got a fair amount of produce to work with this week.

Image

The most difficult thing of this time, for me, is the tomato plants and the realization that the sunlit days have grown too short for large green tomatoes hanging there will likely not ripen on the vine. Alas, these are the last days of homegrown tomatoes! There’s just nothing quite like them is there? Like bacon, they are God’s way of saying I love you, and paired with bacon they are beyond delicious! May we have a moment of silence for the passing of the homegrown tomato?

So, I will accept the fact that the days of tomatoes are coming to and end, but that doesn’t mean the days of the garden are done. I still have A LOT of tomatillos out there and my second planting of green beans are starting to pick up. Yes, I’ve still got those. And yesterday I cleared the garden on the south side of the house and made a perennial vegetable garden there. A garden that reminded me that Spring will come again. In this garden I planted 6 asparagus plants and 5 rhubarb. They will be too young to do much of anything with next year, but having them in the ground and knowing that they will come back in the Spring makes me happy. A promise of things to comeImage.

Image

I wasn’t done playing in the dirt though. I also planted cabbage, Brussels sprouts and kale. Summer’s over, but Fall gardening has just begun. We’re lucky to live in a part of the country where we can extend our growing season into part of the Fall. Kind of takes a little of the sting out of losing those tomatoes.

I can’t say that I have ever been crazy about this crossing from Summer into Fall, but this clearing, and refreshing the ground and cleaning up the overgrown gardens and flowerbeds does make me happy. It makes me feel accomplished. This and wiener roasts are about the only redeeming qualities about the season if you ask me. πŸ™‚

Now I move on with the menus. With the changing season, comes changing tastes within the family. They start asking for more casseroles and creamy, hot foods. Comfort foods. We’re also anticipating a change in how dinners will get put on the table next month as I will be working outside the home daily for a few weeks. It’s going to get interesting and I know I’m going to struggle with how to get full, nutritious meals on the table and all of us around the table on a daily basis. Truly what I will struggle with most is the possibility that it will not always happen the way I want it to. But that will not stop me from trying! I’ve got the crew behind me. The Boy will continue his Thursday dinners, The Hubs will be home before me so he can get things going. There is always the slow cooker, though I’m not a fan of cooking meat dishes in there.

I know it will be a challenge, but I’m always up for a good challenge! I’ve already been thinking about packing healthy lunches and have them planned out nearly all the way though October! I’ve got this!

But that’s a week away and the week ahead holds it’s own challenges. It’s homecoming week at the high school and The Girl, who is already involved in everything will be running in and out the door all week no doubt. I told the Hubs he should have installed a revolving door yesterday when he was working on the sill. So, here’s what I’ve got on the table this week:

BREAKFAST

Sunday: Donuts and Milk

Saturday: Chipped Beef and Toast

LUNCH

Sunday: Ham and Cheese Sliders and Chips

Monday: Ham, Apple and Cheddar Sandwiches

Tuesday: Chicken Salad Wrap, Garden Fresh Veggies and Apple Slices

Wednesday: BLT in a Bowl

Thursday: Cuban Sandwiches

Friday: Left overs

Saturday: Subway Sandwiches

DINNERS

Sunday: Chicken Parm BLTs that we were supposed to have yesterday, but we had the twin grandbabies over and opted for ice cream for dinner. It was the last day of Summer after all! πŸ™‚

Monday: Lasagna Casserole and Green Beans

Tuesday: Rachael Ray’s Fish in a Bag (Fish en Papillote)

Wednesday: Mustard Roasted Chicken and Veggies (a family favorite here!)

Thursday: Ravioli Lasagna and Salad

Friday: Chicken Pot Pie Soup

Saturday: Glazed Bacon and Cheese-filled Burgers and Roasted Potatoes

So there you have it! Hoping your table is filled with happiness and love and that you find something to love in the changing of the seasons!

Leave a Reply

