What’s On Momma T’s Table the Week of 9/29/13

It’s been a week around the table. The business of Homecoming week for the girl. I’ve been trying to prepare the household for my jumping into full time work outside the home and the Hubs decided to throw a trip to the emergency room in there for good measure. He’s fine. No need for worry. In fact, there was little need for the trip in the first place. Had I gone with him to the doctors office, I think we may have tried a few, less drastic steps before she sent us skittering off to a 4 1/2-hour wait in the ER. 

But he is home and getting well and I’m trying to catch up on my to-do list, hoping I’ll be ready come Monday morning. I love a list. More to the point, I like crossing things OFF the list! It’s such a good feeling!

Image

 

Note that “Trip to ER” was not on this list!

As the scrabble board on the porch declares, we’re also gearing up for what, in this household, might possibly be the most exciting time of the year! Halloween! We go all out when it comes to this fun holiday! Last year, we started our dream decorating theme: The Nightmare Before Christmas! We actually had people coming to our yard and taking pictures with the decorations! LOL! 

Image

 

We’ve got more features to add this year! It’s our hope that we will be able to transition them all over to Christmas decorations! 🙂 I know…we’re a little odd that way. I will be sure to post progress of our decorations in the days to come.

In the meantime, it’s time to focus on the family and the household and how we’ll get it all done. My 4-H meeting is all planned and pretty much ready to roll. I’ve got a pretty good handle on the menus. Lunches are planned out for about 3 weeks out now and I’ve got about 2 1/2 weeks of dinners planned. Our two slow cookers are going to be getting a workout for sure and casseroles seem to be playing a big role too. I’m even kicking off Sunday morning with a nice pot of steel-cut oatmeal in the slow cooker!

So, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table this week:

BREAKFAST:

Sunday – Overnight Slow-Cooker Oatmeal

Saturday – Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Sandwiches

LUNCHES:

Monday – Roasted Sweet Potato Salad

Tuesday – Apple and Chicken Salad with Bread (I grilled up the chicken ahead of time)

Wednesday – Quinoa and Roasted Veggies, Feta Cheese, with Apples and Peanut Butter Pumpkin Dip (Recipe will be coming)

Thursday – Leftovers

Friday – Ham, Apple and Cream Cheese Sandwich with Veggies and Olives

Saturday – Sandwiches

DINNERS:

Sunday – Chicken Pot Pie Soup that we didn’t get to have because we were in the ER

Monday – Slow-cooker Three Envelope Pot Roast with Potatoes and Carrots

Tuesday – Slow-cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Wednesday – Slow-cooker Old Fashioned Beef Stew 

Thursday – The Boy’s meal: Spaghetti with Meat Sauce and Salad

Friday – Chili, Rice, Cheese and Chips

Saturday – Baked Potato Bar and some time fireside with the family.

I’ll post the oatmeal dish sometime tomorrow, along with a couple other posts I’ve been dragging my feet on…I hope. In the meantime, I hope you all have wonderful meals and good times around YOUR table. Feel free to share your busy day meal ideas with me!

Leave a Reply

