Tasting the Rainbow: What’s On Momma T’s Table the Week Of 1/26/14

Well, it happened. The weigh-in to kick-start my journey to a healthier, slimmer me was yesterday. It went just about the way I figured it would. I have seen the enemy and it is ugly:

Starting weight 1/25/14
Starting weight 1/25/14
147.4 lbs. is what I’m carrying around on my 4’11” frame. No wonder my knees hurt and I get winded going up stairs. Still, the actual numbers were hard to face. The first words out of my mouth, without even thinking were, “shit!” Yeah, not proud words, but truth for sure.

Armed with this new truth, The Hubs and I set out for the grocery store to restock our cupboards and refrigerator with all sorts of good, healthy foods; you know, things that remember where they come from, that resemble their most natural state as much as possible. We read labels and compared calories and fiber and fat and nutrients and found brought home 12-grain bread, pretzel bagels, hummus and lots and lots of fruits and veggies! As a matter of fact, we made sure to shop a RAINBOW of fruits and veggies!

Rainbow of Fruits and Veggies

I feel better just looking at it! Don’t you? I’ve also been working hard on my menus for the week. It’s not easy to get it all figured out and well balanced. It seems it should be, but it’s just not. Nevertheless I continued working away at it and I feel pretty good about what I’ve come up with. Super Tracker helps me to make sure I’m meeting my nutritional and caloric needs and allows me to check the stats on my favorite foods and recipes. So far I’m liking it as a tool.

Another tool I’m told will motivate is to post a photo of myself each week to track the changes. I can’t tell you how difficult this is for me to do. It’s not so much that I don’t want anyone to see me in this way, people see me everyday at this weight, for me, it’s more about fear. Most specifically, the fear that there won’t be any perceptible change. But this is about busting out of my comfort zone and breaking through my fears so here it is. This is how I look now:

IMG_3644[1]

Here’s to some notable changes in the coming weeks!

I took a lot into consideration while making out these menus; grains, getting 3 servings of dairy products with as little cheese as possible, getting 5 servings of fruits and veggies and making sure I get 5 oz. of protein per day. Here’s the result. It may be lacking a little in variety as I start out, but I know that as time goes on, I will find the balance. So, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table Week ONE of this life-style change.

BREAKFASTS
Sunday – Grilled Chicken Sandwiches with tomato, lettuce on 12 grain bread (no cheese on mine) Yogurt and honey with black berries on the side
Monday – 2 poached eggs, 12-grain toast and 1/2 grapefruit
Tuesday – Pretzel bagel with 2 T. hummus and milk
Wednesday – Poached egg with tomato and slice of sharp cheddar on half of an English Muffin with milk
Thursday – Oatmeal with 1 tsp. honey and milk
Friday – Pretzels, veggie sticks and hummus and milk
Saturday – Egg Sandwiches and milk

LUNCHES:
Sunday – Veggie and hummus sandwich on small pretzel bagel, 1/2 banana and milk
Monday – 1/2 leftover quinoa crusted chicken breast with veggies and milk
Tuesday – Leftover quinoa pilaf, fruit and yogurt and veggies
Wednesday – Chicken and Apple lettuce wrap
Thursday – Leftover fish on a bed of spinach and veggies and fruit
Friday – Rainbow of fruits and veggies with hummus for dipping
Saturday – FlatOut bread pizzas

DINNERS:
Sunday – Quinoa Crusted Chicken and Brussels Sprouts
Monday – Spaghetti with Veggie “sauce”, fruit and Milk
Tuesday – Pork Roast, roasted red and sweet potatoes, green beans and milk
Wednesday – Fish Tacos and steamed rice
Thursday – Stirfry with left over pork roast and vegetables served over brown rice
Friday – Skinny BBQ Pork Loin Chops with Baked sweet potatoes, Roasted Cauliflower and fruit
Saturday – Out with friends

SNACKS:
Monday – 1 C. plain, fat-free yogurt with 1 tsp honey and 1/4 C. sliced bananas and/or Bell Pepper strips with 1 T. hummus
Tuesday – A Clementine and/or pretzels and hummus
Wednesday – 1/2 an apple and/or Plain, fat-free yogurt with Mandarin Oranges
Thursday – Pretzels and Hummus and/or Fruit
Friday – Cheese Stick and/or Yogurt with honey
Saturday – Veggies and/or 1/2 Apple and 1/2 slice cheddar cheese

I would like to end with a great big THANK YOU for the support I have been given already from my friends. I’ve got a great cheering section and I’m touched by your letters and notes of support. If I can’t find success in this venture with all of you behind me then it just can’t be done. Thank you so much!!! Now, could someone come over and coax me onto the treadmill. Goal this week is to get 40 minutes of exercise a day!

Here’s to a successful week, one meal at a time. May the week around YOUR table be blessed!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. cookingwgabi says:

    You can DO IT! Persevere……take it just one day at a time and you will be able to do it!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I certainly feel like I’ve got this…right now anyway. I’ve had to watch my diet before for medical reasons, so I’ve had some practice and I know it will have it’s difficult times. I believe this blog will keep me accountable too, kind of like having to check in with the Doc every week LOL. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave me some encouragement!

      Like

Leave a Reply

