Week 4 of Weight Loss…Facing the Scale When It Doesn’t Seem to Agree With What You’re Feeling

Well, this has been an interesting week in this experience of weight loss. These last 2 weeks have been good ones for me. I stepped up the workout, adding time and distance and speed to my walks and adding in some weight bearing exercise and alternate cardio exercise as well. My clothes are fitting differently (loser) and I can see a difference in my shape, so when I went in for the second weigh-in I thought for sure the scale would tell the tale as I was seeing it. I was looking for a weight loss of at least 4 or 5 lbs more over the last 2 weeks. Not so…

Image

.6 lbs. POINT 6. 

What went wrong? Sure, there was the birthday celebration and that piece of Key Lime Pie, but I’ve been very good up until then and since then, measuring and weighing and writing down every bite. I’m keeping my calories right around 1300-1400/day though I find I can’t usually eat ALL of that food. I’m getting my 5-a-day of fruits and veggies and I’m keeping empty calories under 100 each day, making sure that the fuel I add to my body is of good use to my body. 

Could it be the weight bearing exercise? The whole “muscle-weighs-more-than-fat” thing? Am I not working hard enough? Exercising long enough? What is the problem?????

The problem is my mindset. This is a marathon, not a sprint. I’m going to stall out on the weight loss as my body changes. I didn’t put the weight on over night and it will not come off over night. As a matter of fact, I don’t expect to be at goal weight by the time these 10 weeks are over. I have seen the changes, they are visible and they are real. That SHOULD be enough for me or for anyone. But I got tied up in the numbers. 

Truth be told, I don’t want to lose the weight as much as I want to change my lifestyle. I want to set a pattern of good habits to replace the bad so that I can be healthier and more fit and live a better life. So, the challenge that faces me these next two weeks is to continue forward is to focus on the good habits of eating right and working hard. If I keep moving and keep making good food choices, the weight will go on it’s way. I’m pushing the reset button today.

It is a new thing for me to really struggle for a goal. I usually set my mind, go for it and achieve, so this is a true challenge. I’m stubborn though. I will continue to do what I know is right and I will put away the things that do not work and I will achieve the goal of a more fit me. 

I will also continue to let my granddaughter eat my share of the pizza!

Image

 

She’s 25-days without using her g-tube now! My inspiration!

So, with my inspiration in my heart and my determination, I march forward into the last 6 weeks of this challenge and prepare to set myself up with a life-time of healthy living. I’m ready to make a change for the better. I’m also looking forward to wearing more cute outfits like this one:

Image

That’s me 4 weeks into this adventure 7.1 lbs lighter, wearing a cute new top and jacket and tucking my shirt in! Feels good!

So as my adventure continues, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table THIS week:

Breakfasts:

Sunday – Plain Oatmeal with 1/4 Cup Mixed Fruit, 2 Egg Beaters and Skim Milk

Monday – Mixed Veggies with 2 Poached Eggs

Tuesday – Oatmeal with 1/4 Cup of Strawberries and Blueberries and Skim Milk

Wednesday – Plain, Fat-Free Yogurt with Fresh Fruit and Almonds

Thursday – Egg White Veggie Omelet with Fat Free Milk

Friday  Almond Butter on 7-Grain Toast with Fat Free Milk

Saturday – Egg Sandwiches

LUNCHES:

Sunday – Light snacking since Breakfast was so late. Had Fruits and Veggies and a 1/2 thick slice of Angel Food Cake

Monday – Turkey Sandwich on 1 piece of 7-grain bread with a tsp of mustard and Mixed Fruit Salad with no Dressing.

Tuesday – Ravioli Veggie Soup 

Wednesday – Cucumber and Mukimame Salad

Thursday – Tortellini and Pepperoncini Salad

Friday – Chicken Power Bowl with Roasted Chick Peas

Saturday – Sandwiches, Fruit and Veggies

DINNERS:

Sunday – Thin Crust Pizza, with 1/2 of the cheese, garlic, tomato, onion, spinach, red pepper and no sauce.

Monday – Mini Meatloaves made with 95% lean beef and Bulgur wheat in place of bread crumbs, Mashed potatoes for the family and Strawberries and Blue Berries

Tuesday – Mushroom and Flank Steak Tacos

Wednesday – Pasta with Spinach, Bacon and Sun-dried Tomatoes

Thursday – Chicken Asparagus Stir-fry

Friday – Toasted Pappardelle with Mushroom Ragu

Saturday – Salmon with Red Pepper Pesto, Oven Baked Fries and Spinach Salad

SNACKS:

I have a legion of snacks at the ready for when they are needed. I don’t find that I need a snack every day or that a snack will fit the plan on a daily basis. Some of the foods I have on hand for snacking include:

  • Boom, Chicka, Pop! Popcorn
  • Apples and Almond Butter
  • Celery and Almond Butter
  • Nuts
  • Dried Fruit
  • Fresh Fruits
  • Fresh Veggies
  • An occasional 30 calorie square of Dark Chocolate

So there you have it. I hope some of my menus inspire you to start your own healthy living. I find a lot of these great recipes on Eating Well Magazine’s website and Pinterest boards. They have so many delicious recipes that my whole family will eat and they don’t even know how good they are for them. 🙂

Until next week, may your table be blessed!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Hunt says:

    I can TOTALLY tell the difference in you! You look awesome! I agree that this is not a sprint, it’s a marathon. It took me a year to lose 48 lbs. You are doing a great job and you’re completely correct-it’s about a lifestyle change, NOT a diet!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the vote of confidence! I couldn’t do it without the support of friends! I figure I’ve got another 20 lbs to go and I’m sure that won’t happen in the next 6 weeks but if i want to keep it off, I’ve got to do it the right way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

