Focusing on What’s Important. What’s on Momma T’s Table the Week of 3/2/14

I have made it to the half way point of this 10 week contest to lose weight. In this 5th week I’ve struggled a lot with my weight. Am I losing? Am I not losing? Why am I not losing more? I feel thick. I feel thin! Have I lost my mind? Yeah, I’ve gotten wrapped up in the numbers and I don’t even know what the numbers are! I don’t have a scale!! I’ve spent a LOT of time redirecting my thought processes this week, reminding myself why I am doing what I’m doing. It is NOT to be the biggest loser of the contest, it is to be the biggest winner with a lifestyle change I can stick to after week 10 passes. It’s about REAL living in the real world as much as it is about losing the weight that has me feeling older than my years.

This morning perspective arrived with such clarity it was nearly blinding…or rather deafening. Today is the first Tuesday of the month. Today my wonderful, strong town of Washington took one more step toward normalcy. Today the people of my town braced themselves, prepared their children and for the first time since the tornado came through our lovely little community in November, causing so much destruction we HEARD the tornado sirens as they tested them. Since November 17th, they have done “silent” tests of the sirens, but today, as we enter the storm season here in the Midwest region of the country, they ran an audible test. Nerves were jangled all over I’m sure. I know for certain they were here.

There was much preparation and warning to the community that the sirens would sound today. Parents were asked to prepare their children, teachers were coached as to how to handle the stress this might cause some students. We were all prepared in some way or another.

Still, this blogger felt some anxiety this morning as she waited for the 10 o’clock hour to come. In this time I made my own plan. Ernie (the dog) and I would greet the sirens as we always had before the Tornado…we would throw open wide the door and “sing” with the sirens!

I have to admit, it felt good. It felt…normal.

It may seem silly, if you’ve not experienced a storm like ours, to both fear and celebrate such a normal thing, but the simple act of running an audible test helped to confirm that we are moving forward. It also reminded me that the warnings are there for our safety…for our own good.

Something else this test helped me realize is that I’d gotten “stuck” again, with this weight thing. My tunnel vision had caused me to lose focus of what is important and what is real. For instance, the contest, this is not real. The contest might be the motivator for someone else, but by focusing on the contest I was focusing on how I could dump the pounds without giving any thought to what I would do beyond the contest. Doing things that way would leave me with a plan that would be sustainable for very long afterward and then I would be right back where I started. Instead, I must take this time instead to train myself in to better habits with my activity and diet. I must make a realistic plan that will last me for a lifetime.

As the sirens wailed, I thought back on the events of the past 3 1/2 months. I realized my focus, whether intentional or not, has been on all the wrong things. Today’s tests reminded me that the best things in life; family, friends, health; can be gone in a moment. We must take time to sing with the sirens and to put one foot in front of the other and do our very best every day. Our focus must remain on what is important, and the rest will fall in place. My focus is to replace my bad habits with better habits and to daily find what is beautiful about my life and about me. The weight is not important. That’s not to say I’m giving up on losing it, but I’m no longer in a hurry to do that and my focus is not ON the loss but the path to health.

So, today, as my little Rattie and I howled our hearts out, I decided once and for all to let the chips (carrot chips of course) to fall where they may. I’m no longer focusing all of my attention on exercise and diet but on making better choices every day. I will still track what I eat and I will strive for balance. I WILL allow myself to break the rules every now and then without dwelling on it afterward. I think these things will please my family greatly. I’ve been a little hard to get along with lately, though they might not say as much.

I’ve got too many IMPORTANT things to focus on anyway. I’ve got my family and friends who need me to be focused on THEM. I have a 4-H meeting to plan. I have a Vendor Fair fundraiser to work on and The Girl opens her play this weekend and has Solo and Ensemble contest Saturday. I had to deal with a leak in our water line this week and the half hog we ordered is now processed and ready for pick up and my VAN is in pieces in the neighbor’s garage because every time The Man fixes one thing, he finds another something that needs fixing. And that’s just THIS WEEK!

What’s that? There’s a weigh-in on Saturday? No biggie. The scale only measures my weight. It does not measure my worth.

I know that I am not the only one who gets tied up in the petty details of anything. I know many of you do too. May I encourage you to sing with the sirens and let go of those things that don’t deserve your time or focus. Let the sirens open your eyes to what IS important…that which could be gone tomorrow. Howl my friends! Howl out loud!

With that, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table THIS Week

BREAKFAST:

Sunday – Pancakes

Monday – 12-grain toast with Almond Butter and Sliced Strawberries

Tuesday – 12-grain toast with Sauteed Mushrooms and Spinach and a Poached Egg on top.

Wednesday – Yogurt and Granola Parfait

Thursday –  Granola and Milk

Friday – Egg Sandwich

Saturday – Oatmeal

LUNCH:

Sunday – Ravioli & Veggie Soup

Monday – Portobello Mushroom Cap Pizza

Tuesday – Spinach, Chicken and Black Bean Salad with Yogurt and Salsa Dressing with 1/2 Pear

Wednesday – Quinoa Stuffed Sweet Potato

Thursday – Apple and Chicken Salad with Honey Mustard Dressing

Friday – Banana and Almond Butter Sandwich with Milk

Saturday – Out

DINNER:

Sunday – Oven-fried Chicken, Baked Sweet Potatoes and Fruit

Monday – Grilled Chicken and Tapienade Sandwiches on Whole Wheat Buns and Fresh Pineapple

Tuesday – Skinny BBQ chops with Green Beans and Mixed Fruit Salad

Wednesday – Penne with Roasted Brussels and Chicken

Thursday – Pesto Pasta with Sun-dried Tomatoes and Asparagus

Friday – Pork Medallions with Balsamic Green Beans and Crash Hot Potatoes

Saturday – Crock Pot Chicken Taco Bowls

May your week bring you the peace that focusing on the REAL and important things in life can bring. May you be surrounded, as I have, with lovely friends who support your efforts to make whatever life changes you are focused on at the moment. Thank-you my friends, for keeping me on track.

Leave a Reply

