Downward, Ever Downward! What’s On Momma T’s Table the Week of 3/23/14

My journey started 8 weeks ago now. I have to admit, I never thought I’d make it this far when I decided to try this weight-loss contest, but here I am, still in it 8 weeks later and I’m feeling better than I ever thought possible! I feel more energized, more confident, stronger and of course slimmer. I’ve seen the evidence of my healthier lifestyle in every aspect of my life. 

For instance, I’ve had 3 wonderful visits from my grandchildren in a weeks time (twin 2 1/2 year-olds and a 3 month old). Before I changed my lifestyle, I would need a full day to recuperate from one visit. I wouldn’t have been able to function due to fatigue and I certainly wouldn’t have been able to keep up with them in the least. But I was back at it, doing my workouts and keeping up to the housework and the like. Yes, I was still tired, but not to the point of complete exhaustion! Progress.

I also see the evidence in my ability to get the household chores done and done efficiently. It should be noted that I’ve never been a real Martha Stewart when it comes to the tasks of the home and housekeeping. I struggle at best to keep things up, but in the past 2 weeks I’ve had more energy and I’m getting long put-off tasks completed. I’m keeping up on the laundry and the dishes and I’m keeping things neat. Yesterday was a beautiful warm day (63-degrees) so I went out and spent an hour and a half picking up the yard and working in the gardens. Not only was I able to work for a long time, I thoroughly enjoyed being outdoors! Again, progress.

I also find myself craving fresh fruits and veggies. I am always looking at my meals to be sure that what I’m putting in really does “remember” where it comes from. That’s not to say that I don’t allow a splurge or two, because I most certainly do, but I allow myself smaller portions of those things. When I’m eating out, I scrutinize the menu to find the healthiest choices and I separate out the portions I’m going to eat and take the rest home. It wasn’t easy at first, but now it’s almost second nature. More progress.

The healthy benefits go beyond the energy and weight loss too! For instance, I’ve not had the horrible heartburn and indigestion since I started eating right. Not one antacid, not one Gas-X, nothing. The Hubs must now compete against himself in the evenings when it comes to belching. 🙂 Now THAT’s progress.

I’m feeling the same about workouts too! I find my legs getting antsy to get moving and must find that time in every day to get the workout done. I’ve taken to doing the “Just Sweat” mode on the Just Dance 3 game for the wii. It’s challenging and really gets me moving, but it’s fun at the same time. I am currently working on achieving 5 stars on some of the routines I’ve been working on for a while. Last night I got 5 stars on “Forget You” and “Party Rock Anthem”. Felt good! I also find that I’ve got much better endurance than I had before. I can do the “Just Sweat” mode for 1 hour now and not be so out of breath that I can’t stand up. Instead, I’m breathing heavily but I can still talk and don’t want to collapse. Endurance! I am also finding greater strength and endurance in other exercises too. I’ve started strength training in the last couple of weeks too. Look at that! More progress.

Of course there is a change in the fit of my clothes and for the most part I feel more confident in “being seen” in public, with the exception of one strange issue last weekend. It was odd and I’m still trying to analyze it in my mind. We went to a city-wide auction last weekend. It was a pleasant day, one of the first we’ve had in a while. The temps started cool, but they warmed up good and the sun was out. A beautiful day! I was wearing my “skinnier” jeans and a t-shirt tucked-in. Over that I had The Hubs’ camo coat on. At one point, I was standing in the sun and was getting a little warm. I thought about taking the coat off for a bit and tying it around my middle but my inner voice said, “No! You don’t want people to see what you look like under here.” WHAT? Why wouldn’t I? I don’t look bad, I look better than before and quite frankly, I wouldn’t have thought twice about it before I lost the weight, so why now? Is this a case of still thinking I’m heavy? Stuns me still to think about it. Apparently I still have some mental work to do. As with the rest of it, I’m sure this will come along too.

I’ve learned a lot about myself and my mental attitude as well. I’ve worked through discouraging “numbers” and changed my thinking from loss to health. I’m stronger mentally and physically and I’m working on a more positive attitude!

So, today was the 4th weigh-in. Only one more to go, and that one is next weekend. I’m careful to state here that this not the end of the journey, not by a long shot. I still have more weight to lose. Another 12-15 for sure, but this is the last weigh-in of the contest. I’m not looking to be in the top three. I’m not sure I even want to be, I’ve already received many rewards and I’m motivated to achieve more goals and reap more rewards. I am pleased with the progress of these last 2 weeks as I continue to move in the right direction, downward. Here’s what the scale had to say this morning:

 Image

In case you aren’t following along as closely as I have been, that’s 2.5 lbs down from 2 weeks ago! A total loss of 12.2 lbs over all, but as stated, the challenges go far beyond the scale!

That said, here’s my 8 week photo! I can finally see a difference between this and the first photo back in January! I also need to start thinking about a hair cut. LOL. 

Image

So there you have it. I’m really proud of the progress I’ve made so far and I’m actually excited to see what next week brings! I finally feel like I’ve got control of this situation and I can carry myself to my goal. I have lots of inspiration and support to back me too!

We continue the trend of healthy eating this week around our table with these menus:

BREAKFAST:

Sunday – 100 Calorie Rhubarb Muffins

Monday – Poached Egg, 12-grain Toast and Milk and Fruit

Tuesday – Almond Butter on 12-grain Toast and Milk

Wednesday – Banana, Almond Butter Oatmeal (I think I may have a thing for the almond butter, huh?)

Thursday – Hummus and Veggies with Milk

Friday – Toast with Almond Butter and Milk

Saturday – Pancake Brunch

LUNCH:

Sunday – Hero Sandwiches and Fruit Salad

Monday – Stuffed Sweet Potato

Tuesday – Chicken, Tomato and Broccoli Salad

Wednesday – Turkey Sandwich and Salad

Thursday – Loaded Veggie Panini

Friday – A Feel Good Lunch Bowl (Found it on Pinterest. REALLY excited about this! I’m not sure I can wait until Friday though!)

DINNER:

Sunday – Pot Roast, Roasted Veggies and Sauteed Green Beans

Monday – Greek Roasted Talapia

Tuesday – Fajita Quesadillas

Wednesday – Pork Medallions with Baked Sweet Potatoes and Asparagus

Thursday – The Boy’s choice. He’s not made a decision yet.

Friday – Mediterranean Baked Chicken 

Saturday – Spring Vegetable Pasta

May your week be blessed. May you gain ground on whatever you are working on in your life. May the conversations around your table be joyful! Have a great week!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Hunt says:

    Holy Moly Theresa-you look FABULOUS! I sure hope you are proud of yourself!!
    During my weight loss journey, I have gone thru many of the same things you are going through. For example, I find that I still don’t mentally picture myself as the “new” me. When I go clothes shopping, I automatically reach for a size x-large, even though I now wear a small/medium. When I pass a mirror I honestly don’t recognize myself, as I still think of myself as ‘big’.
    Like you, I also crave fresh fruits & veggies. If I have an off day and I don’t eat very healthy foods, I feel sluggish and tired. When I need a snack I now reach for carrot sticks or an apple instead of cookies!
    That is huge progress for a ‘sugar-a-holic’!
    Good work Mama T-you look AWESOME!

    Like

  2. Thanks LIz. I feel fantastic and I am sure that eventually the thoughts will fall in line with the rest. What was odd in that moment was not so much that I thought I was too heavy as much as it was that I didn’t want anyone there to see me “unfinished” I think. IDK. I will work through this like I have the other issues I’ve encountered. The main thing is I’m healthier than I was before. 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement you have given me along the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

