One Weigh or Another OR A Tale of Two Scales!

What a week it has been! It’s the week before Spring Break for The Girl and of course that means the rush to get everything done before hand. She had a band concert, practice for the talent show, the talent show and auditions for the Chamber Choir for next year!

Since that wasn’t enough, I decided to sever ties with our internet and home phone provider this week. You see, we’ve been without phone service since the tornado in November and they just couldn’t seem to get around to fixing it. I won’t mention them by name, but it starts with an F, they have a buffalo for a spokesperson and their commercials are full of BS. Anyway, they wasted no time cutting us loose and so we have been living in the dark ages at our house, cut off from the world! Well, except for when we can get somewhere that has free wifi or when The Man comes home and we can use his iPhone and the 3G network. OK, we’re not even nearly cut off, but I have to tell you, being home alone all day and not being able to check fb is not easy…and I’m just 4 days technology free as I type this. Ha! Fortunately the new service should be connected in a week. I think I can…I think I can…

I also received word that the piece I wrote about the tornado, November 17, 2013 will be published in a book that the Historical Society is doing that retells the experiences of the people of Washington when the tornado came through. I was glad to be able contribute and kind of excited to share my writing with others. Perhaps it will help foster healing and understanding.

Today was the final weigh in for the Biggest Loser Contest. I’m certain that I am nowhere near claiming the title, but I think I can safely say that I am a winner! I do not plan to stop yet. I’ve not reached that goal, but I’m within striking distance! Because I’m planning on continuing at home, on my own, I broke down and purchased a scale of my own. I weighed in on this scale last week at 136.4 just before the weigh on the contest scale at 135.2, a 1.2 lb. difference.

I weighed in on my scale again this morning so I would have a number to record for home reference from here on out. Here’s how they compared this week:

Image

Home Scale

Image

Contest Scale

So, depending on which scale you choose to believe, I’ve either lost 1.2 lbs or I’ve lost .4 lbs. Personally, I feel I’ve lost more than .4 lbs. Whatever the case, it will be the home scale that I measure my losses on as I go. but as I’ve said, it’s not about the numbers and I’ll still be able to measure the loss of weight as I go. I will also be able to tell how I’m doing by my shape, the fit of my clothes and my energy.

I also reached my goal this week and this goal tells me that I have indeed lost a significant amount of weight. I was able to put my Mother’s ring in it’s rightful place and it fits! Last week I could just get it to the knuckle!

Image

That’s just about everything if you ask me! 🙂

I think it’s the energy I notice most of all over these 9 weeks. There were points in the beginning where I thought I was never going to do this. It just wasn’t working. I didn’t drop weight, I couldn’t go more than 20 minutes on the treadmill, I was falling asleep by 8 p.m. and I got sick about a week into it all. 10 weeks later, I’m finding that an hour of exercise is a walk in the park! I still breath heavily, but nothing like the gasping for breath I had before. I’ve got much better stamina and I find myself wanting to do more, go faster, etc.

This stamina and energy now carry me through my day as well. I’m much less a couch potato and I’m getting more done in my day. More cleaning, more organizing, more project finishing, more everything! I’ve got the energy and the drive to get it done! I’m going to tear it up in the garden this Spring!

There of course is a notable change in my physical appearance. This is me after the first weigh in, January 25, 2014, weighing in at 147.7 lbs.

Image 

And this is me today. Lbs. lighter.

Image 

I can’t even believe the differences. From week to week I could see the small things; less rolls, looser clothing, thinner face, more definition in my waist and legs, fewer rolls on my knees (yes, that’s a thing) but comparing these two pictures stirs up a lot of emotion. I’m shocked at how much weight I had put on. I’m amazed that I was able to take 13 lbs of it off in 9 weeks. I am scared that I might end up back where I started. I’m determined not to do that. Mostly I just want to cry; happy tears and sad. 

While I still crave the occasional brownie or piece of cake or pie or…well you get the point, I find myself reaching for the mini-bell peppers or berries or an apple. Making the healthy choice is becoming easier over time.  That doesn’t mean I don’t give myself a cheat though. I find that is very important every now and then to give into a craving for something not so healthy to drive that craving away. For instance, I had a glass of wine last night, but it was a 4 oz glass of wine. I can have the cheat, AND watch the portion. It CAN be done.

I plan to continue the updates on my journey as I go. I don’t know if it is of any help or inspiration to you, the reader, but I know the accountability I have knowing that you are all watching and expecting change had been essential to my getting this far! So, dear reader, you are coming along for the ride, like it or not!

Now on to the menus. Being without internet had made menu planning fun and interesting! Actually it’s been good. It has forced me to turn to the massive collection of cook books and cooking magazines I have on hand.  Unfortunately, with Pinterest at my fingertips, the poor things have just been collecting dust. 😦 I was even persuaded to finish putting together MY copy of our Family Cookbook that I made this past Christmas for all of the kids. Some of the recipes from this weeks menus come from that book. Really, I need to use these tried and true recipes more often. They are not only good recipes, they have good memories tied to them.

I also realized that I said I would post a tutorial on how I put them together and I promise that I will. As soon as I have internet connection back at home. I really need a faster speed to upload the photos for the tutorial. See, I’m getting those projects I’ve put off, taken care of!

Menu for 3/30-4/5

BREAKFAST:

Sunday – Omelets

Monday – Almond Butter, toast and milk

Tuesday – Poached egg, toast and milk

Wednesday – Granola and milk

Thursday – Mushroom and cheese omelet

Friday – Almond butter on toast with Milk

Saturday – OUT

 LUNCH:

Sunday – Gidget Lunch (Sandwiches)

Monday – Fruit salad with yogurt

Tuesday – Hummus and Veggies

Wednesday – Spinach Salad

Thursday – Leftovers

Friday – Almond Butter Sandwich and Fresh tomato soup

DINNER:

Sunday – Citrus Marinated Grilled Pork Chops, Grilled Asparagus, Baked Potatoes and Apple Sauce, because everyone knows you must have apple sauce with pork chops!

Monday – White BBQ Chicken, Baked Sweet Potatoes, Grilled Mushrooms and Green Beans

Tuesday – Chili

Wednesday – Chicken Parm, Spinach salad

Thursday – Ravioli Lasagna and Salad

Friday – Better Than Takeout Chicken Fried Rice

Saturday – Hamburgers, roasted potatoes, salad

Sunday – Steaks, Mashed Potatoes, Grilled Portobello Mushrooms, Grilled baby carrots, Roasted Asparagus, Corn on the Cob

Leave a Reply

