What’s on Momma T’s Table the Week of 4/13/14

Pardon my absence. Last week seemed to be over before it even began! Had a 4-H meeting followed by a Family Science fair and just Saturday we did a Vendor Fair Fundraiser for the JDRF and another fundraiser for the high school band! We had a day and a half of pouring rain in there too, which caused the front roof to leak and brought water into the basement. Just this week, the Hubs came up stairs with a part from the water heater in hand saying that IT had sprung a leak all over the basement. I can honestly say that it will be nice to get back to the mundane day to day life around the table. Ha!

As I type this, we are having a miserable Spring snow. I’m not amused. Aside from the fact that I detest Winter weather, I have moved into gardening mode around here and the cold temperatures are not conducive to my plans. I have rhubarb plants that I planted last fall that have sprouted their first tender stalks and leaves! If they get frost bitten, the toxins from the leaves will pass into the stalks and make them inedible. I’ve been trying for 3 years to even get the plants to come up, and I am not about to lose them now! On top of that, my asparagus is pushing through the soil! This can’t be happening!

Image

Fortunately the Hubs went to Menard’s and got me these plastic plant protectors! He saved my rhubarb and he doesn’t even like rhubarb! All is right with the world again.

I’ve started a variety of tomatoes and peppers for the garden too. I also made carrot seed tape from paper towel and watered down glue! It was easier than I thought it was and it made sowing the seeds a cinch! Best of all, when the heavy rains came, the seeds stayed where I planted them and the row should be relatively straight too!

I made them by cutting paper towel in strips, coating the strip with the watered down glue (water soluble glue like Elmer’s) and then “sowing” the seeds on the tape! Here’s how they looked.

Image

I laid the strips of paper towel on parchment paper to dry and they peeled right off without issue! The little tops have already started to pop through the soil!

Other than that we have been preparing for Easter. We’ll be having TWO ham dinners so that we can have the chance to see our grandchildren, who can’t be with us on Sunday. It will be worth eating ham twice. 🙂

This week we have the normal, run-of-the-mill stuff going on. The Girl has a choir concert Tuesday, The Hubs will be speaking to the Middle schoolers on Wednesday and then he’s taken off the rest of the week so that we can clean out the basement and garage for our town’s “big junk day” on Monday. It makes me more than just a little giddy to be doing the same-old-same-old I must admit.

I continue to work on my weight loss. I’m happy to report that I’m just 14 lbs. away from my goal now! Two weeks ago I weighed in at 135.2 and Saturday, I weighed in at 131.0! That’s 4.2 lbs over the past two weeks! I’m so happy that I have been able to continue the loss even though the contest is over. 🙂 I had some concerns that I might hit a wall without the accountability being what it was. Now I know I’ve got this, for sure!

Image

I’m still eating right, but I have to say, with all of the running, and packing and busy-ness of the past week, I didn’t exercise. Today, I’m finding it hard to get back into that routine. This will be my goal for this week.

In the vein of eating right, I purchased a Pampered Chef Brownie Pan at our Vendor Fair, for the purpose of making portion-controlled foods, NOT BROWNIES, but that’s mainly because I like the gooey middle of the pan of brownies and not the edges. With this pan, they would all have edges. Blech!

Seriously though, a friend of mine, the mom of two kids with Type 1 diabetes, said that she used her pan to make pancakes, omelets and other foods so that they would be able to accurately calculate the carbs/serving of the foods the kids were eating, allowing them to dose their insulin properly. I figure this can also help in counting calories and controlling portions!

I may be just a TINY bit too excited about my pan though. In anticipation of the arrival of my new pan I’ve started a Pinterest board of things I can make in my brownie pan. Oh my…I may need to order another one! I can see being able to make mini pizza bites with the grandchildren and when we have omelets, everyone can have just what they want in theirs! And pancakes! OH PANCAKES! The Boy want’s chocolate chips, the Girl wants blueberries, I like strawberries and The Hubs like’s his straight up! Now we can all have what we want! Hi, my name is Momma T and I have an addiction to my Pampered Chef Brownie Pan. Ha!

This week there will be no little squares of goodness at the table, but I’ve got a lot of other goodness ready to go. Here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table THIS week:

BREAKFASTS:

Sunday – Cinnamon Roll

Monday – Banana, Almond Butter Oatmeal

Tuesday – 100 Calorie Rhubarb Muffin and Milk

Wednesday – Omelets

Thursday – Fruit and Yogurt

Friday – Out

Saturday – Catch as catch can (Cook is busy with Easter Dinner)

Sunday – Crock Pot Bread Pudding

LUNCHES:

Sunday – Sandwiches

Monday – Southwest Chicken Salad

Tuesday – Veggies and Hummus

Wednesday – Out with the Hubs

Thursday – Soup and Sandwiches

Friday – Stuffed baked potatoes

Saturday – Snacks and Stuff

Sunday – Sandwiches

DINNERS:

Sunday – Pizza

Monday – Chili

Tuesday – Brown Sugar-Garlic Chicken, Baked Sweet Potatoes and Salad

Wednesday – Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes, Roasted Broccoli and Beer Bread (The Taste of Home rep was at our vendor fair too!)

Thursday – Hamburgers and Tossed Salad

Friday – Fish, Spinach Salad and Rice Pilaf

Saturday – Grilled Ham, Corn-on-the-Cob, Asparagus, Fruits and Veggies, Mashed Potatoes, Deviled Eggs

Sunday – Easter Dinner at mom’s

I wish you all a blessed Easter. May you get to spend time with the ones you love, may the weather be beautiful and may you have pleasant conversation around your table.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

