Fairy Gardens, Family and Friends!

We had quite a day around here Saturday! A beautiful, sunny day that was loads of fun! I spent the morning and part of the afternoon with some wonderful friends making Fairy Gardens…which was WAY more fun than I thought it would be! It was a full on Fairy Garden Party! The grandbabies got in on the action and made one for their mommy too! I put my own twist on the whole thing, which shouldn’t surprise any of you who know me! 🙂 It just so much fun fun to have whole families in the yard working together and laughing…loved the laughter! It was also fun to see everyone’s take on the whole thing.

Here’s a look at what we did:

Image

I set up an inspiration board on the scrabble board on the porch!

Image

Drug out all sorts of craft supplies from my craft (crap) closet!

Image

And of course, there were refreshments! 😉

So then we all got started on our creations:

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

The Fairy Garden the grandbabies made for their mommy.

Image

My BFF Pam’s Fairy Garden. She thinks it’s too busy, I think it’s perfect for a fairy!

Image

The one we made for my mom!

Image

Cruize’s garden! His is dedicated to his brother and sister’s JDRF team, “Team Purpose” as the sign indicates. 🙂 Love the old pop corn tub too! Everyone in Cruize’s family re-purposed containers and they were wonderful!

Image

This is my friend Stacie’s garden. I loved that she re-purposed a broken Hen and Chicks/Strawberry pot!

Image

Colton and his girlfriend Chantel made this one in an old galvanized tub with a hole in it!

Image

My friend Martha and her two daughters made several gardens. Each one different and marvelous. This one was made by her daughter Allysann! I love the pot percher on the side!

Image

This was her daughter Harleigh’s garden. She made hers into a playground fairy garden. I think the fairies will be very happy here!

Image

Mom Martha had a lot of fun playing in the dirt too! She made two gardens! 🙂 I like the smiling mushroom! This garden has a real Southwest feel.

Image

Martha’s second creation. 🙂

Image

Loved her pot hugger! 🙂 Makes you want to cheer the little guy on. “Come on! You can do it! You’re almost there!” OK, that could be the Margarita’s talking.

 

Image

This is the creation of the girl. Since we were at our home, we decided to forgo the container and built ours in the gardens. She placed this one under the Magnolia tree.

Image

She’s my artist and very detailed oriented. I think she had the most fun of all.

Image

Image

Now, I’m a little bit…shall we say…different? I don’t follow, don’t go with the flow, I blaze my own path. I don’t go in much for fairies, and when I plant things, I’d prefer that I could eat them so I went a different direction.

Image

Behold the Goblin Garden! I asked The Girl what the opposite of a fairy was, and without hesitation she said it was a goblin. Good enough for me! In particular, a Hogboon Goblin garden! Hogboon Goblins are a friend to the farmer and will help on the farm, so long as the farmer shares his bounty with the goblin. Hogboon goblins live in mounds and they often have large treasures (I plan to add a treasure chest full of Pennywort soon as I can find some) but if the farmer dares to touch the Hogboon’s treasure, well, it’s curtain’s for the farmer, thus the tombstone! Hee-hee!

I nestled it among the front flower garden and added a Rosmary plant, which I pinched back to look more tree-like and I added a purple sage in the background as well. 🙂 I even used the mushroom-shaped cork from the Champagne in my garden. I covered it with a bit of moss and tucked it in behind the Rosemary.

Image

Meet Bob, the Hogboon Goblin. I found him on Ebay. He stands next to his moss-covered mound.

Image

I just couldn’t resist this guy. His name is Snark and he’s owner and operator of the troll bridge. I found him in Ebay too! I will have to get myself some billy goats for that bridge! 🙂

As you can see, there are as many ideas for a fairy (or anti-fairy) garden as there are people! The lovely part of it all was that there are no rules! Everything is right and anything can can be used to create your garden! We all had quiet a bit of fun and have decided that we may just have to get together every spring to make some sort of garden creation! It was SO much fun! The best part of it was that everyone who came went away with so much more than a fairy garden and memories. It seemed that everyone there, had their individual needs met…if only for a short time. 🙂 Love to you all, my Fairy Garden Friends!

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

