What’s On Momma T’s Table the Week of 5/11/14

Hi there! Remember me? It’s been a busy few weeks since last I was able to sit down at the table with all of you, but I’m still here and I’m still working on all of my goals…and then some.

Decent weather has finally started to break across my little corner of the world. I’ve been able to get out and do a lot of gardening! I’ve planted all of my beans and cucumbers and peas. I’ve got carrots coming through and my strawberry plants have blooms on them! I’ve transplanted some day lillies and hostas too. My seedlings have all been moved outside and I’ve got all of my corn in the ground!

The gardening feat I think I’m most excited about right now is my Quinoa patch! So far I’ve been able to outsmart the birds by covering the seeds with cheese cloth and my seeds are now sprouting! In fact, we were able to remove the cheese cloth yesterday! I’m very excited to see how this experiment turns out! I’m sure it probably won’t yield much, but it will be fun and the flowering plant will be pretty!

photo 1 (9)       photo 2 (7)

 

This weekend I hosted a Fairy Garden party! It started out as an innocent post on my facebook by my BFF of a very elaborate, tiered Fairy Garden and the note, “We should make one of these.” and it’s “blossomed” into a full-fledged get together with snacks and drinks and a lot of dirt!

Now, if you know me, you will know that I’m not all that big on the fru-fru decorating stuff. I mean, I really don’t think I have the imagination for the crafty/artsy stuff to begin with and, well, if I’m going to “grow” it and it’s not something we can eat, it probably will need to survive on it’s own, because I’m going to be far too busy picking and cooking and canning the edible gardens to fuss with the ornamental very much. It’s just not my thing.

I think it’s safe to say that the idea, at first, did not appeal to me at all. But the part of gathering my friends together appealed to my hospitality side. I love a good gathering with laughter and fun. In fact, I am a party girl. There. I said it. So, we gathered at my house Saturday morning to create our OWN versions of a Fairy Garden, leaving the interpretation of WHAT a Fairy Garden is to each individual. Each is brought a planter, their choices of plants and any accessories they wanted. I am provided the space, soil, a plethora of “craft” supplies and nature items and of course drinks and snacks! We had a great time, spent a lot of time OUTSIDE and laughed a lot!

Saturday evening, I grilled ribs and chicken and veggies out for an early Mother’s day celebration with my mom. The grandbabies were there too. They had a lot of fun in the water and sand table Yaya purchased at a garage sale the day before:

Phil, lil and alyse

 

We had a very full day of it, playing outside nearly the whole day! That evening as I walked up to the house from out back with my grandson Phillip in my arms, we hear a burst of laughter come from inside the house. I said to Phillip, “Do you hear that laughter? It makes Yaya’s heart so happy.” He cupped his hand to his ear, and with all the magic of a young, innocent soul he said, “Ha, I hear it!” Then he wanted to hear more! Love that baby!

That evening a bee-keeper friend of mine brought over a swarm trap box and put it up behind our garage. The purpose of the trap box was to attract a wild swarm, along with their queen to our yard so that he could capture the swarm and take them back to his hives to replace those he lost over the winter.

He explained it like this: This is the time of year that a queen will break away from a hive and look for another place to live. At this point, she’s been fed so well she will be too heavy to fly very far so the swarm will land in a tree or something and she will send out a scout to find suitable living quarters. The hope is that the swarm will find our box and go back to tell the others. At this point, a few more scouts will be sent out with the first to further check out the digs and if they all agree they will all go back to dance about and tell the rest of them it’s the real deal they should all come along. By this time, the queen will not have eaten in a couple of days and will be able to fly further. They will move in and after a couple of days of letting them settle, my friend will come back out and move them to his hive! Bees are fascinating creatures aren’t they?

photo 2 (9)

The bee trap has 2 layers. In the top layer is one panel of empty, old comb in it and about 4 more panels ready for comb to be built. The bottom one has 5 more panels ready to have comb built on them too. He scented it with Lemon Grass oil which he says smells like bee pheromones. He said that if it works the swarm will all go into the box in the blink of an eye. Something he says is incredible to witness, but I may have to take his word for it. LOL! While I think bees are fascinating and all, I’m not sure I want to be around that many of them at once.The Girl, on the other hand, is planning on being a Field Study Biologist, and she is over the moon about the prospect of witnessing such a thing! I’m thrilled for the opportunity to help save the honey bee community though.

It was a great, busy day and by the end of it I was burnt to a crisp and my feet were grass-stained, reminding me of my childhood! I’m not sure they will EVER come clean and I don’t care! It’s been a long time since I played outside until dark! Too long.

The weight loss has been coming right along, at least until this week. When last I left you, I was 131.0 lbs. Three weeks later I made it down to the 120’s!

Image

Nearly 20 lbs lost! I never thought I’d see the day and only got 8 more lbs to go to get to goal! It felt good! Really, good.

This week, a different story. UP 3.4 lbs. for the first time since I started this weight loss journey.

photo (2)

There are many reasons for the gain, not the least of which is poor eating habits. I’ve not had the time to shop or even plan proper meals and that has made a difference. It was very easy to lapse into the “snacking” and not eating properly. Exercise has stayed the same though. Many hours out in the garden working has replaced my regular Just Dance routine. As I work out in the garden I’ve noticed how much of what you do in the garden matches what you might do in the gym, planks, knee bends, toe-touches, lifting, and there is plenty of cardio and stomach work to do with hoeing and digging and the like. 🙂

This weekend and last have been especially tricky with a wedding, prom and a funeral all within 24 hours of each other last weekend and then the garden party and Mother’s day this. I’ve told myself some doozies about, it’s just this one day, this one meal…a slippery slope friends. I must go back no to taking it one day at a time, one step at a time and I’ve got a whole lot of forgiving to do too.

I will get back on track and I will start by planning menus and a shopping list! I do have a plan for this week and I’m hoping to be able to stick with it with few last minute changes. I’ve made sure to have some back ups for those nights when I’m too worn out from being outside all day or for when it rains on days I plan to grill. Here’s what I’ve planned out for this week around our table. I hope you enjoy.

BREAKFASTS:

Sunday – Chef’s day off

Monday – Toast with Almond Butter and Milk

Tuesday – Baked Egg Sandwich

Wednesday – Toast with Almond Butter and Milk

Thursday – Veggie Omelet

Friday – Toast with Almond Butter and Milk

Saturday – Toast with Almond Butter and Milk

 

LUNCH:

Sunday – Chef’s Day off

Monday – Wedge Salad

Tuesday – Grilled Chicken Wrap

Wednesday – Tuna Stuffed Tomato

Thursday – Veggie Salad with Hard Boiled Egg

Friday – Fruit and Yogurt Salad

Saturday – Sandwiches

DINNERS:

Sunday – Maid’s Day Off

Monday – Curried Baked Fish with Rice and Broccoli

Tuesday – Club Sandwiches and Tomato Basil Soup

Wednesday – Salisbury Steak Meatballs over Noodles and Garden Salad

Thursday – Portobello and Bacon, Gnocci

Friday – Asparagus Pasta

Saturday – Burger’s and Salad

So there you have it! I hope that whatever you have that you share your time at your table with special people, great conversation and most of all, laughter that makes YOUR heart happy! Can you hear it?

Leave a Reply

