Aunt Eileen’s Peanut Butter Bars

This past week I got a hankerin’ for my Aunt Eileen’s Peanut Butter Bars. I REALLY needed a taste of them, a taste of childhood. These bars were something that Aunt Eileen brought to most every potluck gathering. They were good and creamy and peanut buttery, a favorite of mine and my two sisters.

I asked my children if they might make them for me, but no, they apparently don’t love their mommy enough to do something so kind for her. *Sigh* I even took to trying to shame them into it in a post on facebook to no avail. It was clear, I was going to have to make my own delicious goodness. Maybe once they had a taste of them, once they knew how good they were, they would make them next time I asked. Here’s where the story goes horribly wrong…

I finally mixed up a batch of the delicious bars, baked them, cooled them and frosted them. I cut myself a bar and poured myself a nice, cold glass of milk and I enjoyed the trip back in time, to the simpler days. I offered them to my children who replied, “Later.” What? How could they pass up this golden goodness? Aw, they’ll come around. More for me in the meantime!

Image

Yesterday, when I returned from grocery shopping, I’d noticed more of the bars were gone! YES! They had tasted them. How they were not in melted pools of amazement was beyond me, but they had taken the bait! “How were they?”, I asked. 

The boy replied, “Eh, I didn’t really care for them much. There was something chewy in them.” 

Something chewy? “You mean the oats?” 

“Yeah, the oats. I don’t like oats.” 

Take my mother card now…I raised an oat hater. How I don’t know, in fact, I’m SURE I’ve seen him eat granola bars. There are oats in granola bars, aren’t there?

Fine, surely The Girl must have loved them. “So, what did you think? Good, huh?”

“I thought they required too much milk.”

What? Who are these picky people and how did they get into my kitchen? I don’t understand? Is there such a thing as TOO MUCH milk? You may tear my mother card in half and burn it now. I am a complete and total failure. 

So, I guess there really are more bars for me. This won’t help the numbers on the scale much, but what a way to go. 

If you are interested in making your family these oaty good, milk-guzzling peanut butter bars, here is the recipe. Maybe your family won’t be so picky. I hope you find their rich, deliciousness every bit as good as I do. If not, I guess I’ll have to turn in my apron too.

Aunt Eileen’s (Wonderful, Delicious, My-Kids-Don’t-Deserve-Them) Peanut Butter Bars

1 C. Brown Sugar

1/2 C. Shortening (don’t sub. butter or margarine)

1 1/2 C. Peanut Butter

1 Egg

1 tsp. Vanilla

1 1/2 C. Sifted Flour

1/4 tsp. Baking Soda

1/4 tsp. Salt

1/2 C. Quick Cooking Oats

Cream together first 5 ingredients. Sift flour, soda and salt together. Add to creamed mixture; mix well. Stir in oatmeal; pat firmily into a greased 15x10x1″ baking pan. Bake in a 350-degree oven for 12 to 15 minutes. Cool and frost.

For the Frosting:

Cream together:

2 T. Butter

2 T. Peanut Butter

2 1/2 T. Milk

1 1/2 C. Confectioner’s Sugar

Dash of salt.

Enjoy with a big glass of milk…just not TOO much, whatever that is…

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michelle M. says:

    I love when you share your recipes!!

    Like

    1. I love it when I have a recipe worth sharing! 🙂 Enjoy Michelle!

      Like

Leave a Reply

