Autumnal Food Favorites OR Turn the Heat On I’m Turning Blue!

They say we are experiencing “unseasonably cool”weather here in the Midwest. I don’t know what they mean by “cool”, if you ask me, it’s downright COLD! Brr. Of course I won’t give in and turn on the heat yet, I just KNOW there’s a warm-up coming and I’m not going to have the house all closed up and have that nasty artificial heat on yet! For Pete’s sake, it’s still technically SUMMER folks! That said, I’m freezing and so are the rest of the occupants of the house and so the dinner requests have turned to those of warmer, more comforting dishes and I’m always happy to warm them from the inside out! I suppose comfort foods is one thing I don’t mind so much about the change of seasons.

Another thing I like about Autumn is the storing of the garden’s bounty. I’m like a frenetic squirrel, this time of year, putting up a storehouse of goodies for winter. The garden has been very good to me this year too. So far, I’ve put up green beans, whole tomatoes, vegetable juice, salsa, Tomatillo salsa, and corn! I’ve also harvested popcorn and I have dry beans and Brussels sprouts still growing in the garden! Yup, we’re ready whatever the weather. Well, at least we’ll eat well, I don’t know if I can ever be ready for the cold.

Popcorn!

Popcorn!!!

What I couldn’t grow myself, I got at the farmer’s market! I got these beautiful carrots from Pleasantland Organic Farms just outside of town on Eureka Rd. They are now diced up and waiting in my freezer to be added to soups and stews! YUMMY! This was Pleasantland’s first year and they produced some delicious stuff. We always made sure to stop by their table at the farmer’s market and also made frequent stops at their roadside stand! I can’t believe that this weekend will be our last farmer’s market. What will I do the rest of the Fall?

103_0235

Of course the challenge facing me with all of these wonderful comfort foods and the cooler weather is weight. When last I left you I’d made it down to 129.0 lbs from 147 lbs. I’d like to say that I kept losing through the summer but I did not. I gained 5 lbs. mainly due to not doing actual, purposeful exercise. I was active, but I didn’t have that allotted 30 or more minutes of actual exercise going for me so the weight crept back. I’m sure it didn’t help that I discovered Uncle Bob’s Washington Strong Ice Cream either.

103_0246

Truth be told though, I could have had the occasional ice cream cone and at least maintained that weight if I’d just kept exercising. There just aren’t any short cuts. So, I’ve started moving again (30 to 40 minutes of “Just Sweat” and Uncle Bob stays in the freezer a little more often. As of Monday I’m down nearly 2 lbs!

103_0224

Knowing what’s for lunch and dinner and having the ingredients in the house is also key to losing weight so here’s a look at what’s on Momma T’s Table for the coming week:

BREAKFASTS:

Breakfasts lately have been kept simple. I find it’s been easier, especially with the morning bustle in the kitchen, to stick with Almond Butter on 12-grain toast with a glass of skim milk. Occasionally I will “treat” myself to a poached egg with a piece of dry 12-grain toast.

LUNCHES:

Saturday: Soup and Grilled Cheese

Sunday: Gidget Lunch (Sandwich platter)

Monday: Grilled Turkey and Apple Sandwich

Tuesday: Baked Sweet Potato Stuffed with Craisins, Sundried Tomatoes and Feta Cheese

Wednesday: Leftover Pasta Puttanesca

Thursday: Turkey Sandwich with Salad

Friday: Egg Sandwich

Saturday: Potato Soup

DINNERS:

Saturday: Rice and Black Bean Enchiladas

Sunday (Family Funday Sunday!): Grilled White BBQ Chicken and Grilled Portabello Mushrooms with Baked Potatoes (sweet and regular), Roasted Carrots, Green Beans, Spiced Apple Slices, and Macaroni and Cheese with Corn.

Monday: Pasta Puttanesca and Salad

Tuesday: Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes and Corn

Wednesday: Loaded Baked Potatoes

Thursday: Spaghetti with leftover Meatloaf “meatballs” and Salad

Friday: Sloppy Joes over Corn Bread and Vaggies

Saturday: Dinner out. (We’re going to watch The Boy perform in Avenue Q at his Jr. College!)

So, there you have it. I hope wherever you are and whatever you have going on, you are able to enjoy the gifts of the season around your table, even if the weather is too cool! 😉

Leave a Reply

