What’s On Momma T’s Table the Week of 1/4/15

As promised, here it is…another post! I have to say, it’s fun, and maybe just a little bit weird, to run into some of you in person and hear you say that you enjoy my posts and are glad I’m back. Honestly, I’m never sure I ever really have anything worthwhile to say. You are encouraging me with your words and I’m glad, and maybe just a little intimidated, knowing people are reading the words I put here. I’m not sure what I expected, you would do when I started blogging, but it is very strange for me to think anyone would be interested. Thank you. Today the Man and I went out and visited the most wonderful place on earth…MENARD’S Home Center! We LOVE it there! It’s our home away from home! Truly, if you can’t find us at home, you can probably pop in there and have us paged! Today’s visit was all about OPERATION WHAT’S COOKIN’, our project name for the kitchen organization/painting/finishing. The Man bought some wood to make drawer dividers and shelves in my kitchen and I paid a visit to the paint department where I picked up these beauties: Paint Chips I love paint chips! I have a very hard time deciding what colors to pick though. Here I’m trying to figure out a color for the walls (green) and a color for the cabinets (yellow). I’ve kind of got a John Deere tractor thing going on in the kitchen. John Deere is my favorite tractor and the kitchen is my favorite room in the house so it just sort of makes sense. Well, to me anyway. Now, to decide what sort of green (I’m not quite crazy enough to go for actual John Deere green on the walls) and which yellow will go with it. To me, this is the most difficult part of any paint job. We also made the first installment in our version of the Christmas Club savings account. This year we are going to buy a gift card of some sort each week until Christmas. We do a lot of our shopping on Amazon, some on Ebay, of course MENARD’S and some other places. With gift cards, we’re saving up for the big shopping season and we can use these cards online instead of a debit card. Not to mention, we can always gift the card! Gift Card We are also doing the Saving’s Jar deal that many of you have probably already seen on Pinterest or facebook where each week we put money into a jar, the amount matching the week of the year. While we’ve never made it all the way through the year with the jar without dipping in, it certainly has saved our behinds when we needed it. Like when the dog decided to exit the moving truck last year and had a $750 vet bill to put him back together. Yep, the saving’s jar saved us then! It’s a good way to put a little back each week, in addition to our actual saving’s account. This year, we’re just putting in a set amount each week. It’s just easier to budget that way. Another of the goals I’m working on this year is goal weight, so, I hit the scales this morning. It would seem I put on a couple of pounds over the holidays, but nothing horrible. Here are the numbers as they stand: ScaleEleven pounds to go. Not bad and definitely doable. I’m not going to drive myself crazy over the numbers and the calories though. The truth is, I’m OK with where I am right now and if this is where I stay, then this is where I stay. I’m healthy and I have good energy and those are the most important things, but I did set a goal nearly a year ago, and I’d like to see it through if I can. So, I’ve chit-chatted enough for now I think. Time to get on with the menu portion of this post. I’m working on clearing out the freezers and shelves as I organize my way through the kitchen, so I planned my menus around what I have available and needed to do the most minimal of shopping! Yay! BREAKFASTS: Breakfasts are going to be a combination of things, none of which will be assigned to any particular day, but will follow what I feel like eating. I’ve made available to myself the following meals to eat at my discretion.

  • Plain, fat-free yogurt with honey, fruit and/or granola
  • 12-grain bread, with Almond Butter and milk
  • Hard Boiled Egg with Yogurt and/or Fruit
  • 3-Minute Poached Egg with 12-grain bread

These are all combinations I truly enjoy and they give me the choice of sweet when I want it or savory when I crave that. So good!

LUNCHES:

Sunday – We’re cleaning out the fridge with a leftover buffet!

Monday – Loaded Baked Sweet Potato

Tuesday – Salad with hard boiled egg, greens, walnuts, dried cranberries and goat cheese

Wednesday – Salad with apples, walnuts, spinach, chicken, feta cheese and balsamic vinegar

Thursday – Chicken and Rice Taco bowl

Friday – Egg Sandwich

Saturday – Sandwiches

DINNERS:

Sunday – Salmon and Wild Rice with Green Beans

Monday – Chicken Pot Pie

Tuesday – Sloppy Joe Grilled Cheese with Salad

Wednesday – Black Bean and Spinach Enchiladas

Thursday – Pork Roast, Potatoes and Carrots

Friday – Chicken and Dumplings

Saturday – Pork Loin Chops, Baked Potatoes (sweet for me), Roasted Brussels Sprouts

That’s what’s on Momma T’s Table this week! That and selecting a color for my kitchen! Whatever is on YOUR table, I hope your table is surrounded by those you love.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    love your blog posts and really look forward to them!
    Is there anywhere that you post recipes? I’d specifically like to have:
    sloppy joe grilled cheese
    12 grain bread (is this store bought?)
    Looking forward to reading your blog next week!

    Like

    1. The Sloppy Joe Grilled cheese is a pinterest thing. I’ve not tried it yet, but if it’s good I will gladly share it on the blog. The 12-grain bread is from Aldi foods and it’s SO good. Better than the Brownberry one and it’s 10 calories less per slice than the Brownberry bread too!

      Thanks for the encouragement! I hopefully will have another post later today! Special project happening in the kitchen!

      Like

  2. mosbach2014 says:

    How do you do your roasted brussels sprouts? Just with olive oil, salt and pepper?

    Like

    1. Yes, we halve them, toss with salt, pepper and olive oil and we drizzle with a bit of balsamic vinegar too. We roast them at 400-degrees until they are done. Yum! We like to roast wedges of cabbage this way too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

