Project 365 – 15 Week 1

So, one of my goals was to do a Project 365 once again. For those of you who might not know what the Project is about, briefly,it is a challenge to take one photo a day for the entire year. The idea is for the daily picture capture a sense of the day, not necessarily a special occasion, but what was special in the ordinary, everyday way. Then your journal about that day and the picture. Other than that, there are no real rules.

What I like about the project is that it let’s me experiment with the art of picture taking. Makes me think about new ways to vew the world around me and let’s me have that creative moment in my day. I will admit, I wasn’t sure if it was something I could or even should revive, but one week into it, I’m beginning to feel it again. Sure, there were a few days where I was starting to panic because I didn’t think I had anything to shoot, but I think I’m starting to relax into it now and as a result I’m starting to see things with a new eye. I’m also getting to use The Girl’s Nikion J1 digital camera occasionally and that’s pretty cool in itself. Sadly, she went back to school (breifly) this week and she’s taking a digital camera class so I shall have less access to the camera in the coming weeks.

So, here it is, like it or not, the first installment of my Project 365

Jan 1 - New Year's Day. Usually we order out Chinese for New Year's Day. I'm not sure where that started, but we've been doing it for a few years. This year, however, we opted to stay in and make our new favorite Chinese Recipe "Better Than Take-Out Orange Chicken" and it lives up to its name! The best part, we ALL worked together in the kitchen to make it. Everyone played a part. A nice way to start the new year.
Jan. 1 – New Year’s Day. Usually we order out Chinese for New Year’s Day. I’m not sure where that started, but we’ve been doing it for a few years. This year, however, we opted to stay in and make our new favorite Chinese Recipe “Better Than Take-Out Orange Chicken” and it lives up to its name! The best part, we ALL worked together in the kitchen to make it. Everyone played a part. A very nice way to start the new year.
Jan 2 - Yes, I let her out of the house like this. Alyse attended a 3-day long Anime Zap conference. Each day she dressed up...weirdly, and went out in public. I told her that people know me out there, but it was no problem because no one could possibly recognize her. She did a nice job on her make-up I thought. Maybe there will be a future for her as a special effects make up artist after all?
Jan. 2 – Yes, I let her out of the house like this. Alyse attended a 3-day long Anime Zap conference. Each day she dressed up…weirdly, and went out in public. I told her that people know me out there, but it was no problem because no one could possibly recognize her. She did a nice job on her make-up I thought. Maybe there will be a future for her as a special effects make up artist after all?
Jan 3 - The frigid chill of winter is upon us. The temperatures plummeting and the winds are picking up, and we're only getting started. Weather like that calls for a nice pot of Cincinnati Style Chili. Mmmm...hits the spot!
Jan. 3 – The frigid chill of winter is upon us. The temperatures plummeting and the winds are picking up, and we’re only getting started. Weather like that calls for a nice pot of Cincinnati Style Chili. Mmmm…hits the spot!
Jan-4 - Day spent working on home improvements. Paul built the drawer dividers I've been wanting for a long time for my utensil drawer. I love it! Sometimes, it's the simple things.
Jan. 4 – Day spent working on home improvements. Paul built the drawer dividers I’ve been wanting for a long time for my utensil drawer. I love it! Sometimes, it’s the simple things.
Jan. 5 - Today’s picture was going to be that of the second of two hard-boiled eggs that I managed to drop into the bottom drawer in the kitchen, the one where we store the plastic ware. It was to be symbolic of the stereotypical Monday I was having complete with a sick headache followed by a migraine and botched dinner. I had planned to spin it to the positive with the caption, “At least it was hard-boiled. I’m looking on the SUNNY SIDE.” Ah, but tonight I was reminded that sometimes the picture of the day may not present itself until the very end of the day. As I was preparing for bed tonight, I looked out on the fresh snowfall; the first snowfall of the winter. It is bitter cold and the snow has been coming down fast all evening, leaving several inches on the ground already. Those who know me know that snow is not on my list of favorite things, to say the least. But the sight of the glittering, unspoiled snow after such a day as I have had, reminds me that today was just a Monday, one of many past, and tomorrow is a clean slate. Good night.
Jan. 5 – Today’s picture was going to be that of the second of two hard-boiled eggs that I managed to drop into the bottom drawer in the kitchen, the one where we store the plastic ware. It was to be symbolic of the stereotypical Monday I was having complete with a sick headache followed by a migraine and botched dinner. I had planned to spin it to the positive with the caption, “At least it was hard-boiled. I’m looking on the SUNNY SIDE.”
Ah, but tonight I was reminded that sometimes the picture of the day may not present itself until the very end of the day. As I was preparing for bed tonight, I looked out on the fresh snowfall; the first snowfall of the winter. It is bitter cold and the snow has been coming down fast all evening, leaving several inches on the ground already. Those who know me know that snow is not on my list of favorite things, to say the least. But the sight of the glittering, unspoiled snow after such a day as I have had, reminds me that today was just a Monday, one of many past, and tomorrow is a clean slate. Good night.
Jan. 6 - Frigid, sub-zero temperatures and school cancellations couldn't stop this meeting of the minds. Got together with a couple of my favorite friends to plan our annual JDRF Vendor Fair fundraiser in March! It's going to be the BEST one yet!
Jan. 6 – Frigid, sub-zero temperatures and school cancellations couldn’t stop this meeting of the minds. Got together with a couple of my favorite friends to plan our annual JDRF Vendor Fair fundraiser in March! It’s going to be the BEST one yet!
Jan 7 - The temperatures and windchill are seriously cold. Negative temps in the double digits and the furnace has quit. What's a good 4-H leader to do? Anything it takes to get the job done! That's what.
Jan. 7 – The temperatures and windchill are seriously cold. Negative temps in the double digits and the furnace has quit. What’s a good 4-H leader to do? Anything it takes to get the job done! That’s what.
Jan. 8 - The bitter cold continues and just outside the window of my now heated house is a lilac bush full of these fluffy little creatures, literally JUST outside the window. There must be 20 or more of them if there is one.  I watch as they fly from the feeder to the bush, sometimes perching on one tiny little leg, while tucking the other up in their downy bellies. I am amazed that they are alive, as cold as it's been, but there they are. They remind me of the song "His Eye is On the Sparrow", and I know he watches me...
Jan. 8 – The bitter cold continues and just outside the window of my now heated house is a lilac bush full of these fluffy little creatures, literally JUST outside the window. There must be 20 or more of them if there is one.
I watch as they fly from the feeder to the bush, sometimes perching on one tiny little leg, while tucking the other up in their downy bellies. I am amazed that they are alive, as cold as it’s been, but there they are. They remind me of the song “His Eye is On the Sparrow”, and I know he watches me…
Jan. 9 - It may be freezing cold out there (again), but my gardening heart is warm as I order my veggie seeds for the spring. There is hope. Spring is coming and I will watch for it as I watch for the postman to deliver my seed packets!
Jan. 9 – It may be freezing cold out there (again), but in my heart it is warm as I order my veggie seeds for the spring! There is hope. Spring is coming and I will watch for it as I watch for the postman to deliver my seed packets!

So there you have it, the first week of Project 365-15. I’m not sure what I enjoy more about doing it; the writing or the photography. I do know I’m enjoying the journey.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    I’m really enjoying your blog posts-especially your project 365. Love the pics with Christopher’ fork hovering close to the orange chicken!

    Like

    1. Thanks Liz! I appreciate the encouragement! Orange Chicken is Christopher’s all time favorite food! 🙂 He has loved all things orange, including the color, since he was a little boy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

