Spring Has Sprung and So Has My Mind OR What’s On Momma T’s Table the week of 3/15/15

Well, it’s been a couple of weeks now hasn’t it? Seems like the days are just rolling past now. Time change hasn’t helped either. I know it’s just an adjustment to the dial, but it messes with my internal clock. Just when the sun and I were starting to rise at the same time, it’s now dark when I get up in the mornings. Then the light is so bright late in afternoon that I don’t get my mental cue that it’s time to start dinner. Next thing I know, we’re eating at 6:30 or 7:00 at night. I know it’s just a matter of adjusting, but this week following the time change, I find myself repeatedly asking if it is necessary. I think not.

This week has brought us another change as well. We are experiencing some wonderful Spring-like temperatures and sunshine. THIS is a change I can get behind, and oddly enough, this warmer weather leaves me feeling like I AM behind. I just can’t win I guess. With the onset of this lovely weather I know I need to get out and work in the gardens and the yard, I’m doting over my seedlings and I’m fussing about the kitchen. Then there’s this house which so desperately needs a good, deep cleaning and yes, I’m well aware that I’m behind on posting my 365 pictures! Add to that the deadlines Scholarships for TWO kids who seem to think they have all the time in the world, when there are precious few weeks left! The decree that there will be no college if there are no scholarships applied for would light a fire under them I would think, but no.

The Girl is also in another art show, and considering entering more. She’s also planning on setting up a booth to sell her art at our  4-H club’s vendor fair to benefit JDRF, this weekend. we’ve been helping her get that put together and working to get all of the details of the show put together too. And let us not forget that The Girl will be graduating soon and in the midst of that, The Boy’s turns TWENTY! It’s enough to drive a planner like me to the brink and it has!

Yesterday I dragged out the Graduation binder and updated the check lists and printed out some menus and calendars and updated the timeline. This, nerdy girl that I am, brought me great comfort.

Graduation Binder

Just knowing that I can grab this binder full of schedules, lists and ideas when my mind is overwhelmed and refuses to think for me, relieves a great deal of anxiety.

In other parts of life around the table, I’ve taken to making fresh breads at least once a week. Bread making is something I often come to when stressed or feeling blue. I’ve mentioned before how it makes me feel closer to my Grandma Minnie. Working with bread allows me to talk to her and think about here and wonder what she might think about me and my family. Lately I’ve been using my Kitchen Aid Professional stand mixer with the dough hook to make my bread. It has really improved my success with the quality of bread I make, as I have a tendency to over knead or add too much flour to the dough. I find myself wondering if Grandma would approve of the method though. It may seem small to many, but it matters to me to have her approval.

While making this Focaccia bread for last night’s dinner I pondered this thought some more.

Focaccia Bread

Grandma Minnie, or Minnie Mom as many knew her, had 11 kids and, among many other things, baked bread regularly. The bread she made was the bread they had to eat for the week. Baking bread was an all day affair, and when I think of her working the process of mixing, kneading (twice), waiting for the bread to rise and finally baking it. especially when it was hot outside, I wonder if she wouldn’t have appreciated a device that might allow her to start the process and walk away while she cleaned up or chased after a child or something. But, Grandma was never afraid of hard work, so maybe she would frown on the short cut. I still have no answer, but I like to think that maybe she would be more concerned that I provide fresh bread for my family that they eat and enjoy.

Aside from the mania that the warmer weather has brought, I find myself thrilled to be back at the grill! This has inspired the coming week’s menu. I realize that this is just a preview of spring and that these temperatures in the 60’s aren’t here to stay, but I’m inspired to get outside and cook. The forecast is for temperatures closer to the usual (40’s and 50’s) for next week but that’s good enough for me! So, here’s my menu for the coming week with lots of ideas of what to put on the grill!

menu

BREAKFASTS:

Sunday – Vanilla and Blueberry Bread with Eggs, Sausage Patties, and Fruit (Brunch)

Monday – Poached egg and 12-grain toast with milk

Tuesday – Toast and almond butter with milk

Wednesday – Fresh fruit and Plain Yogurt

Thursday – 1/2 Everything Mini-Bagel with Fat-free Cream cheese

Friday – Hummus and Veggies with Milk

LUNCHES:

Sunday – On your own if you’re still hungry after brunch

Monday – Baked Sweet Potato with Goat Cheese

Tuesday – Tomato, spinach Bagel Pizza and Pineapple

Wednesday – Veggies, Hummus, Pita Chips and Fruit

Thursday – Chicken and Apple Grilled Cheese

Friday – Leftover Salad

Saturday – Gidget Sandwiches!

DINNERS:

Sunday – Grilled Pork Chops, Baked Potatoes and Green Beans

Monday – Ginger Garlic Grilled Salmon, Cous-Cous with Mushrooms, and Grilled Pineapple

Tuesday – Smoked Corned Beef Brisket on Homemade Pretzel Rolls, Grilled Potatoes, Grilled Brussels Sprouts

Wednesday – Grilled Mojito Chicken, with Rice and Steamed Veggies

Thursday – Grilled Sesame Ginger chicken Salad

Friday – Carry out

Saturday – Vendor Fair Day! Dinner OUT.

I’m going to need a LOT of charcoal! Have a great week and enjoy the weather and the meals around your table this week!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. So what is a gidget sandwich?

    Like

    1. Ah, it comes from watching re-runs of Gidget (Sally Fields) on Antenna TV. One weekend we were watching and noticed that nearly every episode one of the characters pulled out a platter of sandwich fixin’s and often a whole ham or turkey (ah the magic of television) and they would build a sandwich while talking things out, solving a problem, plotting a scheme or reviewing the problem and solution at the end of the episode. We just started calling a plain old serve-yourself lunch a Gidget lunch or Gidget sandwich. No magic recipe, just a platter with fixin’s. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

