Hey Look! There’s a Blog Here!

Hello my neglected readers. I’m sorry there hasn’t been much action here. If it helps, there has been no lack of action in my real life what with the new job, The Girl’s graduation from high school, a costuming gig thrown in there, The Boy’s involvement in the Penguin Production of Godspell, gardening, (or the neglect of), 4-H fair, a dying cat and so much more. Imagine my surprise when I looked up at the calendar this week and realized that summer was gone and August was staring me in the face! Where did the time go? I’ve been a busy girl, but I’ve not forgotten about you all. I’ve been photographing special projects and activities as I go and I can’t wait to share them with you in future posts. Today though, I’m wading in with a simple menu post, with reflection of course.

I’m pretty excited to have menus to present to you. Since starting to work daily and having all of the other things to do I have struggled to get a menu planned, much less shop for it or execute it. As things have settled into a less hectic rhythm I have made a point of TAKING the time to make it happen. TAKING the time has such significance because I have recently come to the realization that the opposite of that is to let other things STEAL my time. Since this epiphany, I’ve decided to make a conscious effort to TAKE time back for many things I enjoy, menu planning and cooking and spending time with The Hubs. Balance is the key.

One of the first things I did was to make a reading bingo card just for me! No one else wanted to join me, but I like the idea that I can reference the card for reading inspiration any time I want. I’ve taken back this time for me.

bingo

So far I’ve only read 3 books but I plan to keep reading until the card is done. To date I’ve read Gone Girl (thumbs down) and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime (two BIG thumbs up!) I’m currently reading All Things Wise and Wonderful which isn’t bad but is LONG.

I’m finding balance all the way around. I’m taking the time to appreciate the things I have been blessed with, the good and the bad. Lately I’ve been clinging to the verses in Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 “There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under the heavens…” and every day I find it to be more and more true. I’m also focusing on those seasons. The season of harvest is quickly coming upon us and even though my garden has pretty well been given over to the weeds, I am purchasing from the local organic farmer and storing up what we will need for winter. I put up 25 pints of beans just last week. It felt good. It also gave me time to spend with my family as we sat in the living room and snapped 1 bushel of beans together!

beans

OK, so maybe it was more fun for me than them. The Girl spent the morning before this picking them while riding a trailer, laying face down on a surf board while the trailer was pulled through the field. It was a “character building” experience for her as she was slapped by thistle weeds during the excursion. I’ll bet few can put that on their resume! In spite of the long faces, we had a good time and we even had a bean fight. These are the times memories are made.

Apparently the memories we made on bean night have already stuck pretty well. Last night, as we sat around the table at dinner, we had corn on the cob. It was exceptionally good corn, and I mentioned that we should get more immediately to put up this weekend. Three heads all snapped my direction in perfect synchronicity and glared! I laughed and asked if they broke their necks swiveling their heads that quickly. They laughed at my comment and I’m sure there will be laughter as they shuck a couple bushel of corn this weekend. 🙂

So, I’m letting go of the things that just aren’t so important. The perfection, the idea that I have to have everything just so. I know that my struggle is not any different than any mom who works at home or works a job away and a job at home. Letting go is hard, but it is necessary and there comes a time (Ecc. 3) to let go so that we can be open and ready for new experiences.

That’s a taste of the conversation around Momma T’s table for the last several weeks. Now here’s what’s ON Momma T’s Table this week including a recipe for my favorite Grilled Chicken with White BBQ Sauce. The weather has been so rainy here in the Midwest that I haven’t had much of a chance to grill anything until lately so this was a special treat!

The menus are are not as extensive as they once were. Breakfast consists of cereal, yogurt and fruit, eggs or toast with almond butter. Something I don’t have to think about much. My schedule is such that lunch either comes early or late in the day so I just grab a  healthy to tide me through until dinner. So, the menus simply will be for dinner. I’ve given up on having everything planned out so completely. See…I’m letting go!

Saturday: Grilled Cheese Sandwich Bar (I actually grilled these outside ON the grill)

Sunday: Creamy Avocado Fettuccine with Sauteed Garlic Steak

Monday: Grilled Chicken with White BBQ Sauce, Corn on the Cob and Grilled Cabbage

Tuesday: Honey Garlic Pork Chops (on the grill of course), Grilled Pineapple, Apple Sauce and Fresh Green Beans

Wednesday: Tortellini a la Momma!

Thursday: Grilled Pizzas (hey, we could use a little rain now)

Friday: Hamburgers and Mac and Cheese for the kids. Parent’s night out.

Saturday: Cook out with friends. Brat Hot Tub, Greek Turkey Burgers, Grilled Fruits and Veggies

Sunday: The Boy is bringing cast members for the next show together for a wiener roast!

Now, here’s something to put on YOUR table in the week to come:

Grilled Chicken with White BBQ Sauce

20150803_184845

1/2 C. Low-fat Mayo with Olive Oil

1/4 C. Cider Vinegar

1 T. Lemon Juice

1 tsp. Paprika

1 tsp. Minced Garlic

3/4 tsp. Black Pepper

1 Chicken cut into quarters or chicken pieces

In a bowl, combine all ingredients except for the chicken. Reserve 1/3 C. of the mixture and refrigerate it for later. Place the chicken parts into a bag and pour the remaining marinade over the chicken. Seal and coat the chicken pieces then let it marinate in the refrigerator for 2 hours.

Heat coals and arrange on either side of a drip pan set in the middle. Remove chicken pieces from marinade and discard the marinade remaining in the bag. Place the chicken over the hot coals for 8 to 10 minutes, turning after 5 minutes, then move to the cool zone in the middle. Cover the grill and cook 18 to 20 minutes longer or until a meat thermometer indicates 160-degrees F., brushing occasionally with the reserved marinade. Enjoy!

It’s good to be back friends! I am already looking forward to my next post! Hope you are too!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    I’m so glad you’re back! The white bbq sauce sounds yummy-thanks for the recipe.
    I totally “hear” you about menu planning-I started a new job 3 weeks ago and I’m totally struggling with menu planning. I’m also struggling with grocery shopping-I HATE going on Saturday(stores are too crowded), but I’m too tired to go after work. This has sadly resulted in numerous “quick” trips to the store, which has meant overspending.
    I hope you are enjoying your new job and getting the hang of it!

    Like

    1. Thanks Liz! It is good to be back! You are welcome for the recipe! If you set up the drip pans and cool zone, you can walk off and leave it to get other things done once you move the chicken over there and cover it! Just remember to set a timer to go back and check it about half way through to make sure your fire is still hot enough to finish the job (should be a medium heat). I usually have to add a few more coals. I love a recipe that can take care of itself.

      Grocery shopping has been the tough one for us. We don’t like doing it on the weekends but we often find that is what we are doing, but for a long while, it was grabbing ingredients on the way home from work, or worse, grabbing take-out.

      I LOVE my new job though. Great people to work with and just the right amount of challenge to the work. They have finally learned that I need to be kept busy and right now, as we gear up for the start all of the fall activities (restarting Sunday School, Confirmation classes, etc.) I’m busy enough that I could be two of me and still have enough work for another person! 🙂 I’m much happier and people are starting to notice it wherever I go. 🙂

      Congratulations on your new job. Give it a few more weeks and you will be able to get your menus planned. In the meantime, feel free to borrow from mine! Make that chicken. It’s delicious! It also comes to 324 Calories/quarter. Not too shabby!

      Like

Leave a Reply

