Back at the Table

Well, here I am again. After a long absence, I’m back. This is the part where I promise to be a better blogger and produce blog matter like crazy! Well, I’m not going to do that this time.

I’m here because I miss my blog. I’m here because I like to write. I’m here because I like to share stories. I wish I had more time and more inspiration, but it is apparent to me now, that hours are not going to be added to the day just so I can blog. As for the inspiration, well, that’s a more difficult problem to overcome, as I have once again fallen for that dark pal, “stinkin’ thinkin'”.

This is the sort of inner dialog that spends its happy hours shooting down every idea I have, telling me it’s just not interesting or not good enough or that there just isn’t enough to be said on the subject. It would be so much easier to add hours to a day than combat the voices that tell me my ideas don’t matter, that they are not good enough. Sometimes they say that I post too often, spamming the emails of those who follow my blog. (How annoying!) Other times they remind me that I’ve not posted in so long that no one will care. (Hello? Is anyone out there?)

I’m not aiming to fix this problem in one little blog post. It’s one I’ve been working on for a very long time, and in my 50 years I’ve yet to find a solution. All I can do is try to ignore the negativity I squarely place on myself. I own that. I can try to believe a little more in my words, my ideas. Try to practice what I preach to my kids, to my friends, to my co-workers. I’m a cheerleader for everyone else, why can’t I be a cheerleader for myself? (Who knows?)

I know I’m not alone in this and that is why I chose to put this here. I’m hoping that it helps others, not by way of a solution, but so that they know they aren’t alone. That’s all I want this blog to be is a place for my readers to learn and to feel that they have a friend, someone like them.

I recently picked up the book “Speak: How Your Story Can Change The World.” by Nish Weiseth. The idea is that we need to do more story telling and more listening to other’s story in an effort to understand each other better, even in our disagreement. I believe that to be true.

Stories are what I wish to tell here, that has always has been the case. This book has given me a nudge return to my blogging. I want to tell my stories, the serious ones, the funny ones and the ridiculous ones.  I want to hear your stories too! Share them, share your comments and thoughts, in the comments below. Let me know you are there! (I really do need to know that you are here.)

So, after a long absence, here it is. A simple post. A post to let you know I’m here and I truly intend to be here more often. I make no promise that there will not be dry spells, but I remain hopeful that I can find a groove and a purpose and a direction for my little corner of the internet. In the process of finding my way back, I do not imagine that the negativity within will simply go away, but I hope to make enough noise to drown it out! I know that self-deprecation is not the way God intended for me to live in this life. I have a story to tell, and for what it’s worth, I will do my best to tell it, one blog post at a time.

Gosh, it’s good to be back at the table.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    yea! you’re back! This makes me happy! I also so often suffer from being my own worst enemy-my inner voice isn’t very kind. 😦
    I’m glad you’re back. I hope you don’t mind if I give you a little “nudge” now and again to blog, because I so enjoy reading it.

    Like

    1. Oh Liz, please do! Nudge away! I need it! If you only knew how many “starts” I have trashed in the past few months. How many times I’ve talked myself out of even getting started…I have some plans for writing prompts when I can’t think of a thing to say. (I know, hard to believe I would have trouble with that!) We’ll see how that works. Thanks for pulling up a chair. Glad you are here.

      Like

  2. Nicola O. says:

    Yay! good to see you back, and looking forward to more stories. And hon, I could tell you stories about the silly posts on other blogs that I’ve read and even enjoyed (like the decorator blog that did a sponsored feature on…. wait for it…. decorative Kleenex boxes. I’m snot kidding.)

    Like

    1. Thanks Nicola! I know a few people who could have written that blog on the decorative Kleenex. I’m looking forward to figuring this all out again. I think there will be some changes. Not so many menus…what was I thinking with those? Anyway, I’m happy to be back with my people. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

