What’s On Momma T’s Table?

Sunday was Family Funday Sunday and the day the Oldest and I celebrated our shared birthday. He turned 30 and I maintain that since we share the same birthday, we can share the same age for as long as his age suits me…and it will always suit me.

For the celebration I baked up a Texas Sheet cake, half chocolate and half white because I’m always trying to please everyone’s taste, and I decorated it up with the birthday boy’s favorite candy and his old buddies, Thomas and friends! You’re never too old for fun, are you? The most popular slices of this cake were the ones right up the middle! EVERYONE wanted a slice cake version of the black and white cookie! I will have to split the difference the other direction next time so there are more blended slices next time.

20160221_122803

We got to spend it with the grandkids too. They are getting so big! Miss Lillian came in and snuggled right up to me and asked me what books I had when I was little. That led to me getting some of my old books off the shelf and we snuggled up for some reading time. She was such a good listener and when we were finished, I asked her which one she liked best. It will please my own mother VERY much that she picked “Me Too!” which happened to be one that I made my mother read EVERY NIGHT when I was little. I can’t deny I’m a little proud, but I completely understand why mom grew weary of that one night after night.

20160223_143716

We had a whirlwind of a weekend, but I did manage to get things planned for the coming week, even if I haven’t gotten around to posting it yet. This week is all about the Hubs and me. The Boy and the Girl are both involved in the same theatrical production at school so I planned our menus from my brand new copy of “America’s Test Kitchen’s The Complete Cooking for Two Cookbook” that The Man got me for Christmas! It’s so full of recipes and tips, a very thorough cookbook and I’ve been waiting to break it out since the holidays!

It wasn’t easy to choose, as a matter of fact, we played the “pick a number between…” game to select some of them. 🙂 Here’s the first one I cooked:

20160222_174139
Chicken and Risotto with Spinach and Feta 

I served it up on special plates that come from the old Blue Max Restaurant that was a staple in Morton, IL back when The Man and I were dating. We went there for dinner before our first homecoming dance together. Some years later we were attending a church that bought the building that housed the restaurant and they ended up with some of the china from the place. I managed to snag a couple of pieces when they decided to get rid of what they had left. The perfect addition to our first night of meals for two. Mushy, huh?

So, here are our menus for two, excluding Sundays. Hope you find something here that inspires you for your next time you get to enjoy dinner for two.

Sunday (2/21) – Classic Lasagna in meat sauce, Roasted Veggie Lasagna, Salad, & Garlic Bread Sticks

Monday (2/22) – Chicken And Risotto with Spinach and Feta for two

Tuesday (2/23) – Steak Tips with Red Wine Pan Sauce, Hands Off Brown Rice, and Pan Roasted Asparagus

Wednesday (2/24) – Pasta with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes, Garlic and Basil and a Salad

Thursday (2/25) – Grilled Chicken Breasts and Cherry Tomatoes, Spaghetti with Garlic Olive Oil

Friday and Saturday – OUT for dinner

Sunday (2/28) – Family dinner of Fried Chicken, Mashed Potatoes, Gravy, Corn and Biscuits

Here’s to dinners for two, feeding our bodies and our relationship!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    The grandkids are getting so big!
    I believe I see the book, “In, On, Under, and Through” in your stack of childhood books. That was MY absolute fav when I was young!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, they are. In fact, after I finished reading “Me Too!”, Miss Lil said to me, “Yaya, I wish I had that book when I was a little girl.” Yes, because you are so big. 🙂

      Yes, you do see, “In, On, Under, and Through” in that stack. Another of my childhood favorites too. I loved all of my books and mom said I always brought a big stack for her to read at bedtime. I had one about colors too that I just loved…especially the blue page.

      Like

Leave a Reply

