Here We Go Again OR What’s NOT on Momma T’s Table

Many of you will remember my weight loss journey 2 years ago. I lost more than 20 lbs and I was so much healthier and happier. I was able to keep it off for a whole year too but in the last 11 months, I’ve put on nearly every pound I lost. I find myself just 5 lbs. from where I started 2 years ago. Back to my back and knees hurting, my clothes not fitting and I get winded too easily when going up stairs. Not only that, but I recently discovered that my blood pressure is higher than it should be, not dangerously so, but it’s a sign I will not ignore. You see, typically my BP a little low is 115/70 but now it’s 133/85.

I’ve identified where I went off the rails.

  1. Since starting work, I’ve failed to find time to exercise. I’m up at 5:00 a.m. and home by 2-ish. By the time I eat and get chores going, it’s time to get going on dinner. Excuses. I could do this in the morning…though The Man is home at that time and I don’t exercise in front of others. (It’s a real phobia and I don’t want to talk about it, K?) Anyway, I will find time. That’s goal number 1.
  2. Eating lunch at 2:00 poses some problems in that I come home ravenous and will eat the first thing that greets me; chips, cookies, brownies, pizza, leftovers, you name it. If it was in my cross hairs I ate it! Then just 3 hours later I was eating dinner. The plan will change with a protein of some sort at breakfast, healthy snacks at work and a carefully planned light meal when I get home.
  3. Alcohol. I have been working on my mixology and sampling my work at home. I’m getting good. In addition, I would have a few drinks at my favorite Pub when we’d go out to dinner. No more. While I do not plan to get rid of my Gin Gimlet altogether, I am limiting myself to no more than 2 a week. According to My Fittness Pal, there are only 130 calories in a gin gimlet so I think I can work that one off if need be. I will just have to have some friends over when I get the urge to mix!

The good news is this: I know I CAN to it because I did it before. I know what I need to do and I know how to do it. I’ve fired up my “My Fitness Pal” account again and I’m tracking ALL of the foods I eat and my activity. I am adding steps to my walk home and I’m looking at my daily schedule to see where a daily exercise routine fits in. I’m even considering challenging The Girl to a couple Wii Just Dance dance-offs while she’s on Spring Break.

Most importantly, I’m making myself accountable to you, my readers. I believe this accountability to have been key in my weight loss the last time. Knowing that you are here, waiting to see the numbers, cheering me on and offering advice and encouragement kept me on task when I felt like giving up or cheating. I have accepted that once I get to my goal weight I cannot stop tracking my foods and my activities. If this is going to stick, I’m going to have to pay attention and track what I eat for a lifetime.

I have set up a reward for myself as well. If I take the weight off, I’m treating myself to another “Stitch Fix“. I used my birthday money to order some clothes from Stitch Fix and I LOVED what they sent me! Once the weight is gone, I’m treating myself and letting Stitch Fix spruce up my wardrobe! They are a really neat company with a unique way to shop. If you have not checked them out, click the link above.

So, without further ado, here’s the obligatory scale shot and my before pic. Here’s to a successful weight loss (goal of 120) and that this time I KEEP it off!

20160321_152636 (1)At least it’s .0. I hate those pesky decimal points.

20160321_184009

I thought black was supposed to be slimming. What a hot mess!

BREAKFAST MENUS:

Monday: Poached Egg with one slice of 12-grain toast

Tuesday: Plain yogurt with berries and homemade granola

Wednesday: Almond butter and one slice of 12-grain toast with 1 Cup of Skim Milk

Thursday: Healthy Oatmeal and Fruit Cups and 1 Cup of Skim Milk

Friday: Asparagus & Mushroom Omelet

Saturday: Poached Egg with one slice of 12-grain toast

Sunday: Biscuits and Gravy (brunch)

LUNCH MENUS:

Monday: Hummus, veggies and 1/2 whole-grain pita

Tuesday: Apples with almond butter to dip and popcorn

Wednesday: Fruit & yogurt parfait

Thursday: Cottage Cheese and Fruit

Friday: 1/2 Turkey pita sandwich and assorted fruits

Saturday: Veggie Sandwich

DINNER MENUS:

Monday: Spaghetti and salad

Tuesday: Tacos

Wednesday: Grilled Chicken and Mushroom Penne with Garlic Sauce

Thursday: French Potato Soup and Salad

Friday: Out to dinner

Saturday: Grilled White BBQ chicken, grilled potatoes and asparagus

Sunday: Easter dinner at my mom and dad’s. Plenty of food and family time. I’m making Deviled Eggs and Crock Pot Mack & Cheese. I’m also bringing a big dose of self control. 🙂

So, here we go again, hopefully for the last time. Here’s to success and learning what it is that makes me revert to such poor eating behaviors. If I identify it, I can fix it, or at least be mindful of it. Thanks to all of you who will follow through with me again as I take this journey.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    I feel your pain and am in the same boat. As you may recall-a few years ago I lost 50 lbs. I have now gained back 30 of those lbs (to my great disgust and dismay!).
    I took a long, hard look at my diet and realized a few things;
    1. I had started eating too much pasta and bread
    2. My portions were too large and I had started going back for seconds.
    3. I had stopped eating enough veggies.
    4. I had stopped exercising.

    On Jan 1, I started my new eating plan. I received a fitbit for Christmas and I can track my exercise, calories and water consumption on it. What I have found most frustrating and challenging is coming up with calorie counts on homemade recipes. Tracking my calories has been very helpful, because it makes me accountable for everything I choose to eat.
    So far I have lost 5 lbs, but it’s taken me nearly THREE months to do.
    For some reason, it’s been more difficult to lose weight this time.
    You go girl! We’re in this together!

    Like

    1. Well Liz, welcome aboard!? I don’t know if you have ever tried tracking on My Fitness Pal or not, but they have a feature where you can plug in the ingredients of a recipe or download it to their site from another. It will analyze the calories in the ingredients and then you tell it how many servings it made and it will calculate calories per serving. You can then save the recipe and use it again when needed. It’s a bit of work, but once it’s in there, it’s in there. I like My Fitness Pal for many reasons and that is one of them. Happy to have the company. It’s easier to go it together. 🙂 See you on the lighter side! 🙂

      Like

      1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

        awesome! I’ll check out my fitness pal.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Like I said, it’s a little cumbersome at first, but it really does help. They also list calorie counts for various name brand and store brand products so you can easily find the exact item you are looking for. Same with restaurant dishes. It was invaluable to have on my phone when we would go out to eat. If you don’t find a particular product you can input the information from the nutrition label too. I found out about it through some of my type 1 friends who use it to calculate and track
    carbs.

    Like

    1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

      I just signed up! Thank you! That should make it SO much easier to figure out calories!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

