What’s On Momma T’s Table the week of 3/27

Good morning! I certainly meant to check in with you yesterday, but ended up getting a migraine and didn’t get my post put together yesterday afternoon.

I hope you all had a lovely Easter. Ours was very nice with lots of love and snuggles from the grandchildren! They kids also shared some big news with the extended family, so I think it’s OK for me to finally share too:

 

20160329_061745

So now I will be a Yaya x 4!

In other big news, I’m happy to report that I did well tracking calories this week! I was also a good girl with all of the choices given me during Easter Dinner. Even if I did eat a little butter cream icing off of a piece of cake, overall, I watched portions and only put those foods that I don’t regularly make on my plate. Mom’s chicken and noodles (just 1/2 a cup), Deviled Eggs (why DEVILED eggs at Easter though?), a fluffy roll (no butter) and I filled in with delicious salads and veggies. I was satisfied and full.

Paying attention to my satiety clues was key too. When I found myself hunting around the kitchen I stopped and asked myself if I was actually hungry. Most of the time the answer was no. Surprisingly, I’ve felt fuller since starting to track my foods. I think this is because I’m taking care to select things with proteins and fiber in them. I’m happy.

This week I heard from so many of you who are also struggling. I’ve heard you say that I have inspired you and that you are in this with me. I’m grateful for the company and humbled by the trust you have put in me. Your stories serve to keep me focused on accountability and honesty in this process. Thank you.

This connection with you, my reader, has also brought me a new recipe! I call this Caitlin’s Oaty, Fruity Bowl of Goodness!

20160328_070824

A co-worker of mine, Caitlin, shared it with me, saying that she ate this every morning for breakfast when she lost her weight. I will admit that when she told me about the FiberOne cereal in it I was just not sure. FiberOne and I do not have a friendly relationship. However, I’m open to trying new things and I asked her for the recipe, which she put together for me in a lovely little “do-it-yourself” kit. I tried it Monday morning and I LOVED it! It was filling and delicious and I was hardly bothered by the old FiberOne. In fact, it gave a welcome crunch to the oatmeal.

Here’s the recipe, should you wish to get adventurous in your breakfast routine:

1 Packet Quaker Instant Oatmeal, prepared with water according to packet instructions. To the prepared oatmeal add:

1/4 C. FiberOne Cereal

1 tsp. Chia Seeds (no, my head has not sprouted greens)

1 C. Blueberries or fruit of your choice

Mix and enjoy!

I’ve recorded the recipe in the recipes section of My Fitness Pal here. It has 232 calories per serving, 7 g. of protein, 14 g. of dietary fiber and 53 g. total carbs. It will become a regular part of my breakfast rotation.

So, how did my first week go? Well, I’m down 2.8 lbs! Not bad for one week! My goal was 2 lbs. a week, so I met that and then some!!

20160328_054727

We have a busy and stressful weekend ahead. We will be traveling to the big city of Chicago to visit Columbia College for both The Boy and The Girl. While there are many thoughts swirling through my head as this trip approaches, tuition chief among them, it is the actual drive up there and back that has me tied in knots. I do not appreciate the traffic or the largeness of the city. I’m a country girl. I’m trying not to stuff my emotions about this trip though. We’ll see if the stress has an effect, good or bad, next week I guess!

For now, I’ve carefully planned my meals as best as I am able. There will be a lot of eating out this weekend, but here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table this week:

BREAKFAST:

Monday: Caitlin’s Oaty, Fruity Bowl of Goodness

Tuesday: Fruit & Yogurt Parfait

Wednesday: Pumpkin Breakfast Cookie (I will share recipe next week if they turn out to be good.)

Thursday: Almond Butter on 12-grain Toast

Friday: Veggie Omelette

Saturday: Pumpkin Breakfast Cookie or something on the run

Sunday: Waffles and eggs for brunch

LUNCH:

Monday: Apple and Sharp Cheddar Cheese slices

Tuesday: Hummus, 1/2 Whole Wheat Pita and veggies

Wednesday: Grilled chicken and veggie wrap

Thursday: Fruit & Cheese Plate

Friday: Veggie Salad with grilled chicken

Saturday: Lunch at Columbia

DINNER:

Monday: Was supposed to be dinner for 2, but The Boy was home sick so we ordered out, because all he wanted was salted fries. I’ve been there. So, we ate McDonalds. I had a hamburger, plain with 1/2 a bun, small fries and a side salad with balsamic vinaigrette. Not the steak and potato I had planned.

Tuesday: Chicken quesadillas

Wednesday: Grilled Filet Mignon, Baked Sweet Potato and grilled Asparagus spears FROM MY GARDEN!!!

Thursday: Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes, Corn and Salad

Friday: OUT

Saturday: On the road

Sunday: Grilled Chicken Quarters, Grilled veggies mixed with pasta.

So, there it is. Another week in the journey plotted out, with flexibility built in. Hoping those of you who are joining me on this journey are doing well. Keep talking to me. Keep sharing your recipes and your successes with me! I need to know you are all out there!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    do you use the plain, sugar-free quaker oatmeal for the oaty, fruity goodness?

    Like

    1. I use plain. The berries sweeten it just fine. You can also use other berries. I like blueberries best though. Raspberries or black berries when they are in season might be pretty good though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

