What’s On Momma T’s Table 4/3/16

Spring is trying its best to emerge here in the Midwest. Flowers are coming up, trees are budding and the lawn is growing. If only the temperature would cooperate! One minute it’s 70 degrees and sunny, the next it is 35 and blustery.

This weekend was a perfect example of the two faces of Mother Nature. Saturday we had winds 35-40 mph with 50 mph and it was COLD! In fact, this crazy weather, and The Boy still being sick caused us to cancel our trip to Columbia University. And what a good idea that turned out to be as it SNOWED in the very Windy City! Truthfully, I’m not at all sure how we would have kept both The Boy and The Girl from flying away in the winds anyway.

Sunday brought sun, and while it was still windy, it was not nearly as bad and the temperatures climbed up to near 70-degrees! I got out in my gardens and cleaned them up a bit, cut fresh asparagus and tidied up my strawberry bed! Oh, the feeling of dirt between my toes! My heart was so filled with joy.

Today it was colder again. The sky is gray again. And THIS is the view on the calendar above my desk at work:

20160404_140138

Folks, this could be a snapshot ripped straight from the life of yours truly! It just hangs there, mocking me with this vision of what my life was. I HAVE chairs like that! I HAVE a clothes line and hanging the wash out was a pure joy to me. Serving my family, keeping the household running, these things brought me such joy! After the sweet taste of playing in the dirt this weekend, it was very difficult to go into a building and sit at my computer and do my job.

I realize that there is very little I can do about it. I realize that my family is served by my drawing a paycheck right now. I realize that my being at that desk serves some purpose…BUT my heart and my soul, they live for the scene above. I’m beginning to see where my blood pressure issues might be coming from.

So, let’s stick to the thing I CAN do something about, my weight. I’m happy to report that I am down another 2 lbs! For those keeping score that’s 5.8 lbs in two weeks! I know that there is a slow-down in the weight loss coming, but I am very pleased with what I am seeing so far.

20160404_054047

I’ve also noticed a difference in the way clothes fit. Pants are looser, tops are more comfortable, etc. But I have to admit, there is one clothing change I have never experienced before. My BOOTS fit differently…

20160404_172712

The tops are loose. That’s a new one on me! I’ve almost always had to get boots with the extra wide calf. I’m a short girl, I spend a great deal of time on my toes reaching for things so my calves have always been very muscular. I guess they have also been a little fat. Still, in all the weight I lost 2 years ago, I never had a change in my calves. Go figure! Guess I’ll have to go boot shopping. Haha!

This past week has not been without it’s struggles. I found the sugar cravings were hitting me pretty hard. I’ve been careful not to give in to all of them, but occasionally a square of dark chocolate was required to get through the day and YES, I may have claimed two M&M candies as vegetables because they were green. Still, I’d say I got through it OK and I’m looking forward to more healthy eating and another successful weigh-in.

Next Sunday I will have my biggest obstacle yet. Number 2 son ages this week and so does my mother. We are celebrating here with a LOT of food. I’m trying to make sure there are plenty of healthy choices, but the Strawberry/Rhubarb pie, my son’s favorite, will be a tough one to pass. It will undoubtedly be my cheat for that day. Then again, I will probably burn off the calories in the prep of the meal and running in and out tending to the brisket I will be smoking that day. But that’s borrowing tomorrow’s worries today. No point in that.

I mentioned in last week’s blog that I would give you some feedback on the Healthy Breakfast Cookies recipe I had found. They were good, but need some tweaking. The egg that gets mixed into the mixture, seems to pool at the bottom of the cookie while it’s baking. While this is not wholly awful, it’s not exactly pleasant to have this pronounced egg texture and taste in an otherwise sweet/salty cookie-like food. I’m going to do some more work with the recipe and get back to you. They are tasty though and they look pretty, except for the eggy bottoms. 20160404_204239

Enough about my boring life! On to the Menus! Here’s what’s on Momma T’s table THIS week!

Breakfast:

Sunday: Waffle Brunch

Monday: Caitlin’s Oaty, Fruity Bowl of Goodness (kids, if you haven’t tried this yet, DO IT! So good! See last week’s post for the recipe.)

Tuesday: 12-Grain Toast with Almond Butter with milk

Wednesday: Breakfast Cookie and milk

Thursday: Caitlin’s Oaty, Fruity bowl of Goodness

Friday: Fruit and Yogurt

Saturday: Toast and Almond Butter with milk

Sunday: A Very Veggie Omelette

Lunches

Monday: Veggie & Hummus Wrap

Tuesday: Turkey Pita Sandwich

Wednesday: Fruit & Yogurt

Thursday: Apple slices and Almond Butter with Milk

Friday: Spinach & Bean Burrito Wrap

Saturday: On the run

Dinners (We’re dining for two ALL week!)

Monday: Pork Fajitas

Tuesday: Salmon with Herb Dressing and Asparagus (from our garden!!!!)

Wednesday: Turkey Taco Salad

Thursday: Chicken & Rice

Friday: OUT

Saturday: Chinese carry-out

Sunday: Brisket, Potato Salad, Slaw, Israeli Salad, Baked Beans, Super Creamed Corn, Biscuits, Strawberry Rhubarb Pie and Brownie Pudding with Ice Cream. (Oh boy…I’m in trouble)

So, there you have it! I’d love to hear from YOU. What’s on YOUR table this week!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

