Caught Up In the Numbers!

We’ve reached that wall. That big, ugly, brick wall. The barrier between swift weight loss and the struggle to lose weight. I knew it was coming. I KNEW it, and I thought I was prepared. Instead, I’m caught up in a numbers game. I’m caught up in what the scale says and this week it says I gained .2 lbs. POINT 2! That’s not so bad really. It’s not like I put on a WHOLE 2 lbs, so why am I so disappointed?

20160418_060135

I’m doing what I should, I’m staying within the set parameters, I’m keeping my calories at or just below 1200 each day with very few exceptions and I’m exercising. In fact, the only thing that has changed is that with the wonderfully warm weather we’ve been having, I’ve added to my regular workout with, weed pulling, hole digging, raking, dragging, pulling, planting…so what gives?

I don’t have the answers, I can only suppose. Perhaps, and I think this is valid, perhaps it’s muscle gain. I’m using and toning muscles that haven’t had much of a workout lately. Perhaps I’m retaining water because I’m not drinking enough water to compensate for the extra work effort? Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps. Perhaps I should just stop focusing on those 2-tenths of a pound (that’s 3.2 oz. in case you are wondering) and focus on what I have accomplished in the last 4 weeks.

I’ve lost a total of 5.6 lbs. That’s something!

I feel better, I’m more mobile, I sleep better. All good things!

I got The Man to plow my garden so I could get it planted with beans and cucumbers and onions and tomatoes and peppers and all things good and I’ve blanketed it with a nice, thick bed of straw to keep the weeds at bay!

20160418_152923

He came home early just to do that for me. 🙂 He’s the best!

We also turn up the coolest things every time we plow up this garden. I have to wonder what they did there…what might have been built there. We’ve found parts of pink and black porcelain sink and tiles, square nails, bottles, matchbox cars and this year these items popped up:

20160418_155913

Fun!

I’ve tied back my blackberry canes, liberated my strawberry bed from weeds, harvested some delicious asparagus and rhubarb and cleaned up 3 flower beds. Not too shabby when you consider that the flower beds were done just over the weekend.

And if all of that’s not enough, here’s another set of numbers I’d like to introduce you to:

20160418_135424

Perhaps these are the numbers that count the most. My BP is down from 133/85! Lower weight + watching my sodium + regular aerobic activities = improvement where it counts!

The war of the numbers will continue, but at least I know I’m winning a battle here and there. I’m far from done, but I’m proud of how far I’ve come. Onward, ever onward.

Here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table THIS week:

BREAKFAST:

Monday – Caitlin’s Oaty, Fruity Bowl of Goodness (tried it with Blackberries this time, since Blueberries were rather pricey. Delicious!)

Tuesday – Plain yogurt with berries and granola

Wednesday – Almond Butter on one piece of 12-Grain Toast

Thursday – Cottage Cheese and Fruit

Friday – Caitlin’s Oaty, Fruity Bowl of Goodness

Saturday – Open-faced poached egg on 1/2 whole-grain English muffin

Sunday – Brunch…to be determined.

LUNCH:

Monday – 1 whole grain pita, 1/2 green bell pepper, 6 baby carrots and 2 T. of hummus

Tuesday – 1/2 of an apple sliced, 2 T. Almond butter, 2 stalks of celery and 7 Pretzel Crisps

Wednesday – Cottage Cheese, fruit and a turkey/cheese roll-up

Thursday – Spinach & Black Bean Burrito

Friday – Chicke & Hummus Wrap

Saturday – Veggie & Pita Sandwich

DINNER:

Monday –  Lean Beef Burgers on Pretzel buns with Roasted Brussels sprouts

Tuesday – Grilled Pineapple Glazed Salmon, with baked brown rice and Roasted Broccoli

Wednesday – Grilled chicken and Veggie Kebabs

Thursday – Grill-smoked pork chops and roasted cauliflower

Friday – PUB CLUB!

Saturday – Grilled Pizzas wtih Charred Romaine & Red Onion Salad

Sunday – Grilled Portobella burgers, Baked Potatoes and Asparagus

There you have it. Another week of menus planned and purchased. I will continue to work on not focusing on the numbers, while working on bringing those numbers down. I will also take time to celebrate the small victories. My hope for you, is that your week unfolds easily before you and that you have much to celebrate!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    I think you are doing awesome and I admire your hard work! I tried the oatmeal bowl of goodness-delicious! I put raspberries and blackberries in it one day and banana another day. The recipe will be a regular in my breakfast fare!

    Like

    1. Glad you liked the oatmeal bowl of goodness! As you can see, it is a regular part of my regime too. Thank you for your words of encouragement. I will kick butt…I’m just really tired of the fight. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

