What’s in Momma T’s Garden?

I come to the garden alone,
While the dew is still on the roses,
And the voice I hear falling on my ear
The Son of God discloses.

Refrain: And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own;
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

He speaks, and the sound of His voice
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing,
And the melody that He gave to me
Within my heart is ringing.

I’d stay in the garden with Him,
Though the night around me be falling,
But He bids me go; through the voice of woe
His voice to me is calling.

“In the Garden” by Charles A. Miles, is my favorite hymn. It is the first hymn I learned by heart as a young child. I can remember swinging in my back yard, swinging as high as I could and singing this at the top of my lungs. I loved the tune then and I still love it. I guess it’s no real mystery then that I love being in my gardens here at home. They bring me peace and clarity. They give me a place to get quiet with my thoughts and my God. And how could I not find peace working under conditions like this?

20160424_165508

This week I had a lot of thoughts swirling in my mind. Things I needed to figure out. Decisions to make. A dear friend, and member of the Pub Club gave me some good advice, VERY good as it turned out.

She told me, “Set a timer for THREE hours, it has to be three, and just be quiet. If you must DO something, make it something simple that does not require thought. Pray and then just BE.”

I told her I’d try it, but I have to admit, I didn’t think it would work. Still, I went out into my garden, I set my timer, prayed and went to work. At first my mind continued to swirl with all of the things that were weighing on me, then the song came to me, especially that second verse: “He speaks, and the sound of his voice, is so sweet the birds hush their singing.” If the birds could get quiet and listen, then so could I.

By the second hour I had some solutions, good ones, to the things that were bothering me. I had a plan! It took another hour to come to peace with the decisions, to convince myself that the path before me was the one to take, but it was good…and it took THREE hours. This friend of mine, she’s a genus and I’m blessed to know her!

So, besides those three hours, I spent many more getting the gardens in shape. I still have a way to go, but the weeds are slowly but surely giving way to beautiful green plants and flower buds. There’s something satisfying about cleaning out the weeds and uncovering treasures in the garden. There is also something VERY satisfying about removing a nuisance plant by the entire root! This is the root of a walnut sapling that The Man kept hacking off, thinking it would just go away. I made SURE it would never come back!

20160423_144103

All of this time in the garden has resulted in more than just cleared beds, planted vegetables and flowers and mental peace. It’s reflected in one other place too.

20160425_060012

I’m down 1.4 lbs from last week and a total of 7 lbs overall! I’m toning a lot too and my sleep is very sound. I can honestly say that this week I feel stronger and better than I have in a long time. But just like in the garden, there is still much work to be done. 🙂

So, with that work in mind, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table, when she’s not in the garden:

BREAKFASTS:

Monday – Caitlin’s Oaty, Fruity Bowl of Goodness

Tuesday – Whole Wheat Pita, Veggies and Hummus

Wednesday – Toast & Almond Butter

Thursday – Caitlin’s Oaty, Fruity Bowl of Goodness (I REALLY do like it!)

Friday – Blueberry and Peach Yogurt Parfait with Granola

Saturday – Poached Egg and Toast

Sunday Brunch – Omelettes

LUNCHES:

Monday – Veggie Sub on Whole Wheat

Tuesday – 1/2 Apple with Almond butter, 2 Celery Stalks and Pretzel Thins

Wednesday – Wheat Crackers, Sharp Cheddar Cheese slice and 1/2 Apple

Thursday – Cucumbers, Pitta and Hummus

Friday – Berries and a Hummus and veggie wrap on whole wheat tortilla

Saturday – Turkey Pita

DINNERS:

Monday – Sun-Dried Tomato, Garlic and Mushroom Pasta

Tuesday – Carnitas

Wednesday – Grilled Pork Chops, Charred Romaine & Red Onion Salad, Apple Sauce and Roasted Asparagus (from the garden!)

Thursday – Better than Take Out Pork Fried Rice

Friday –  OUT

Saturday – Pan-seared Salmon with Mediterranean Salsa Fresca and Toasted CousCous

Sunday – Oven Baked Short Ribs, Crash Hot Potatoes, Garlic Butter Roasted Carrots and Peach Halves

It’s supposed to rain more this week, which is fine, little flowers and little plants need the rain to grow, but what will I do if I’m not out there in my element? I guess I’ll have to do some house work and find the peace within the chores? We’ll see.

May you all find peace, accomplishment, happiness, good health or whatever it is you seek. Take three hours sometime this week to be quiet and see what is revealed to you. It’s good for the mind and for the soul.

Leave a Reply

