Reasons to Celebrate Around Momma T’s Table!

It’s been a rainy week and weekend. I’ve not had the pleasure of doing much in my gardens since last week, but I walked the gardens hand in hand with The Man this evening and it was wonderful to see how all of my plants are literally drinking up the wet weather.

Today at our work staff meeting, we went around and shared a RTC (Reasons to Celebrate). Tonight as we walked around looking at the effects of the rains on the gardens, we found many RTC. The plants are lush, the blooms are coming on strong and everything is young and lovely.

20160502_181929
The strawberry plants are going to be loaded this year!
20160502_182119
Onions!
20160502_182442
Solomon’s Seal
20160502_182531
Hosta

April showers indeed bring may flowers, lots of strawberries, onions and so much more! And weeds, but I prefer to look at those as exercise. I love seeing my gardens spring to life. What better reason to celebrate? Looking at the pictures above, I think I finally realize why green is my favorite color too.

The Man isn’t really a BIG fan of the “home farm”, but he loves me and he knows my gardens make me so happy and as a result, he helps me out. Here he is, training my clematis to it’s new structure.

20160502_182514

I wonder if he knows how much happier this loving act makes me? I wonder if I do anything to show him how much I care about his happiness? I sure hope I do.

We have a special visitor to our back yard sanctuary too.

20160502_182403

If you look carefully at the top of the ladder, you will see a mama robin in her nest. This winter brought a rough ice storm to our neck of the woods. A lot of trees in our neighborhood were completely lost or severely pruned. I assume this lovely was looking for her former nest. We saw a lot of this in our area after the tornado came through here in 2013. That spring many robins came back to where the trees were and when they were unable to find their trees, they built nests on the ground, in the ditches and anywhere they could. This mama had a job to do and she’s found the spot she wants to do it. She has 3 lovely eggs in her nest and she’s very protective of her location, as The Man can attest.

There are many reasons to celebrate what’s going on outside. There is also a reason to celebrate inside too!

20160502_073254

Down 2.4 lbs since last week for a total of 9.4 lbs! None of my pants fit any more so I’m hoping for warmer weather to come soon as all I have to wear right now are summery dresses and skirts! I guess a trip to the thrift stores is in order.

My weight loss goal was my RTC that I shared today at our breakfast staff meeting. I also made these delicious Healthy Strawberry Oatmeal Bars from Well Plated. They are SO delicious and with the drizzle frosting, they are roughly 100 calories for a 2″ x 2″ square. They are filling too. I would have posted a picture of mine, but they were gone before I thought of it. They went FAST! I will be making them again in the very near future. Perhaps for Mother’s Day.

Speaking of food, here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table this week:

BREAKFASTS:

Monday: Staff Breakfast. I had the Healthy Strawberry Oatmeal Bars, a square of Yvonne’s Sausage and egg casserole and 3 VERY large fresh strawberries.

Tuesday: Caitlin’s Oaty Fruity Bowl of Goodness

Wednesday: Toast with Almond Butter

Thursday: Pita & Hummus

Friday: Caitlin’s Oaty Fruity Bowl of Goodness

Saturday: Egg Sandwiches

Sunday: Whatever The Kids and The Man decide is right for brunch

LUNCHES:

Monday: Pretzel Flats & Hummus

Tuesday: 1/2 Apple and 1 slice Sharp Cheddar Cheese

Wednesday: 1/2 Apple, Almond Butter, Pretzel Flats

Thursday: Cheese & Wheat Crackers

Friday: Chicken & Veggie Roll Up

Saturday: Turkey Pita Sandwich

DINNERS:

Monday: Roasted Veggie Quesadillas

Tuesday: Grilled Chicken Breasts stuffed with Feta & Sun-dried Tomatoes, Roasted Broccoli and Noodles

Wednesday: Grilled Pork Burgers, Roasted New Potatoes and Corn on the Cob

Thursday: Spaghetti with Homemade Sauce and Salad

Friday: Out

Saturday: Pub Club Cookout

Sunday: ????????

So there you have it! Another week of weighing foods and making stuff taste good! Here’s to more RTC around your table and mine!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    gorgeous garden pictures! Thank you so sharing.

    Like

    1. You are very welcome. I simply love nature and my gardens. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

