Busy Times Around the Table OR Where Have I Been?

I’ve been a very bad blogger. Send me to my room to sleep…I mean think about what I’ve done. Seriously…I could use a timeout.

It’s been a very busy few weeks around the table here. The gardens are growing like crazy, weeds mostly, but still, they require my daily attention and they are providing with food and flower. I’m so excited to be getting large quantities of Strawberries this year! I’ve been babying this patch along for 4 or 5 years and it’s finally paying off! I had enough to put into a fruit salad this weekend and some to slice for shortcake! This is what all  about!

fruits and flowers]

I’ve uncovered my gremlin garden and added some new features.

Gremlin garden

I uncovered The Girl’s fairy garden too. She added a dragon and some Irish Moss.

Fairy garden

Our 4-H club won a grant from First Farm Credit Services and we are using that to establish a gardening project at a local assisted living home. We’ve been there for the past two weeks weeding and digging out old plants and replacing them with new. It’s been a great opportunity for the residents and my kids to work together and we are making a difference in both age groups. We even took over flags for Memorial Day. I am so proud of my 4-H club. They are the best!

Morningside

The Boy turned 21 this past week. He’s easing his way into full adulthood. No bar crawl for him, he’s not interested in that sort of thing and he’s sticking to his guns. I’m proud of him for that. We held our annual fish fry to celebrate his birthday yesterday. It’s a big job, but we’re getting pretty good at putting it together.

fish fry

Last Sunday we even managed to work in a Family Funday Sunday!

Family funday Sunday

In the midst of all of the activity, my weight loss is coming along. Slowly, but it’s coming along. I may not have been blogging regularly, but I’ve been keeping track!

Weight

Down 11 lbs to date! I’ve also got some good news where another number is concerned:

20160528_075401

My blood pressure is back in normal range! However slow the weight loss is coming along, THIS makes me so proud. THIS is why I started the weight loss and exercise journey. This is why I’ve changed my eating habits! AND IT’S WORKING!

Diet has been a bit of a challenge lately. With all of the busyness,  regular grocery shopping has been difficult to maintain. We just don’t have the time to make the lists and no energy to execute a shopping trip if the list were made. I’ve put in a few extra hours at work too. All of this has resulted in eating out more or eating frozen pizza etc. In short, not having the time or the proper foods in the house has resulted in straying from my carefully planned menus. I’m sure many of you can relate.

But, this is a new week and I get to start over! I’m really looking forward to many meals cooked on the grill. We will even be eating one of the organic chickens we bought from Pleasantland Organic Farms. These are from the chicks that we hatched back in March. They look so good with white skin and no globs of yellowed fat. The flesh is healthy and pink.

Chicken

For some this is sad or even gruesome, but to me, it is a thrill to have had a hand in bringing good, wholesome meat to my table. Knowing where my family’s food comes from is important to me, and I couldn’t know more about THESE chickens as I watched them hatch from their eggs, in incubators set on my dining room tables. Now two of them will end up on my kitchen table and I will feel good about feeding them to my family.

We are also planning on grilling the first pizzas of the on Sunday. Local friends, you have been warned. Make sure your storm supplies are in order.

Here’s what’s on Momma T’s Table this week!

BREAKFAST:

Monday – 1/2 of a cinnamon roll and 1 Cup skim milk (it’s a holiday)

Tuesday – Sweet Potato “Toast” (an experiment from Pinterest, I’ll fill you in next week) with almond butter and bananas

Wednesday – Caitlin’s Fruity, Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Thursday – Hard Boiled Egg and Toast

Friday – Caitlin’s Fruity, Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Saturday – Egg White Omelette

Sunday Brunch – Fruit & yogurt topped pancakes

LUNCHES:

Monday – 1/2 Turkey Sandwich on Multi-Grain Bread and 2 Apricots

Tuesday – Fruit Salad and yogurt

Wednesday – Hummus, Pita and veggies

Thursday – Turkey Pita Sandwich

Friday – Chicken Veggie Wrap

Saturday – Sandwiches (we’re in a “Gidget” mood again.)

DINNERS:

Monday – Momma T’s BBQ burgers (making this one up as I go, I’ll let you know how it comes out) with leftover sides from the fish fry

Tuesday – Pork Chops, Corn on the Cob, Grilled Sweet Potatoes

Wednesday – Grilled Chicken Halves, Veggies and Quinoa

Thursday – Stuffed Steak Rolls, Steamed Rice

Friday –  Pub Club!

Saturday – Steak, Mushroom & Potato Kebobs

Sunday – Grilled Pizzas

Here’s to a great week ahead. If the weather is favorable where you are, I hope you’ll get out and enjoy it. I’m headed out to my beloved gardens as soon as I press Publish! I will see you all soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

