What’s For Dinner Wednesday and Breakfast Lasagna Recipe

We’ve made it half way and I must say, it seems to have taken its own sweet time getting here. I’ve had plenty to keep me busy though. The blackberries are coming on fast and the tomatoes, though green, are hanging heavy on the vine. I simply do love this time of year!

Last week’s Sunday Brunch menu included “Breakfast Lasagna” I was asked by a reader if I would share my recipe for the dish and told her that I would…if it turned out. Well, it turned out and the family loved it! The Boy was not really fond of the texture of the hash browns in the middle of it, but I’ve worked out an option for those who are texture sensitive.

I must warn you, dear reader, this recipe is not for the faint of heart or the high of cholesterol. This is NOT a daily breakfast food, but one of those dishes that you would enjoy occasionally for brunch, or maybe to take to a potluck, or office breakfast.

The idea for this recipe came from one I saw on facebook. I liked the idea of breakfasty goodness all layered up and piping hot, but the recipe I saw layered syrup-soaked French Toast with diced ham and eggs. The sweet/eggy/savory combo just wasn’t our sort of thing. But I DO know what sort of breakfasty things we do like. That set The Girl and I to thinking. The result is this delicious, layered breakfast delight.

So Here it is: Breakfast Lasagna

Begin by preparing the following:

  • Sausage Gravy you can make your own or purchase your favorite from the refrigerated or freezer section. If you are interested in how to make it, I might be persuaded to do a tutorial at a later date.
  • Scrambled Eggs. We scrambled about 8 of them.
  • 7 or 8 slices of bacon. We bake ours in the oven.
  • 7 slices of toasted white bread

Once those are prepared to your liking it is time to assemble.

20160710_073220

Begin by spraying an 8″x8″ casserole dish with non-stick spray, then place a thin layer of sausage gravy on the bottom of the dish.

20160710_073429

Layer toast upon the gravy.

20160710_073553

Layer half of the eggs on top of the toast.

20160710_073710

Then the mixture of potatoes and cheese. Now, as I mentioned, The Boy had some issues with this layer. He felt that the hash browns were too dry. Options would be to

  1. mix the gravy and the hash browns together
  2. mix the hash browns with a cream soup and milk
  3. prepare the hash browns in a skillet before putting them in the casserole.

I love options, but much to Ernie’s dismay, giving some to the dog is NOT one of them.

20160710_074259

But Mom…

20160710_074557

Repeat all of the layers. finishing with toast then hash browns and gravy…

20160710_082330

Remember that bacon? Yeah, that goes on top!

Bake it at 350-degrees for 20 to 30 minutes, or until it’s bubbly and melty and all and serve it up! One pan cuts nicely into 9 squares. One was enough for me, but The Man and The Boy needed two.

20160710_082933

There it is in all it’s glory! I ran it through My Fitness Pal for a calorie count and it really wasn’t all that bad at 350 calories. I should point out that I use skim milk and lean pork for my sausage gravy. I know…it’s a little like ordering a double cheese burger with large fries and a diet coke, but I sleep at night. I also lost .8 lbs this week so there!

20160713_053425

So, that’s waht was for BRUNCH last week. Here’s what’s for Dinner on Momma T’s Table!

BREAKFASTS:

Sunday Brunch – Chipped Beef on Toast

Monday – Caitlin’s Fruity Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Tuesday –  1/2 of an Everything Bagel with Almond Butter

Wednesday – Yogurt & Blackberries

Thursday – Caitlin’s Fruity Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Friday – Hard Boiled Egg & Hummus

Saturday – Egg Sandwich

LUNCHES:

Monday – Leftover Pasta Salad

Tuesday – Pita, Hummus & Veggies

Wednesday – Chicken Wrap

Thursday – Hard Boiled Egg with Hummus

Friday – Sandwiches

Saturday – 4-H Fairgrounds Clean up Day means Sloppy Joes for lunch!

DINNER:

Sunday – We’re celebrating the 5th birthday of our twin grandchildren Phil & Lil. We can’t go to their actual party because it’s the same time as 4-H Fair Check-in so we’re having them over and Yaya is cooking! Menu includes Pulled Pork, Hot Dogs and Not Dogs, corn on the cob, mac & cheese, grilled peaches, watermelon and pasta salad. Brownie Pops and homemade birthday cake!

Monday – Flat Bread Pizza

Tuesday – Honey Dijon Garlic Chicken with The Pioneer Woman’s Crash Hot Potatoes

Wednesday – Mediterranean Portobello Mushroom Burgers and Roasted Veggies

Thursday – Spaghetti Pasta Salad

Friday – OUT

Saturday –  Pub Club Cook out. I’m bringing a copy cat recipe of Portillo’s Chopped Salad.

Eat well, friends. ++

One Comment Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    thank you for the breakfast lasagna recipe and the pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

