Thread It Up Thursday! Stitch Fix!

Welcome to the first Thread it Up Thursday here around the table. My hope for this theme is to share my favorites in clothing and textiles and to motivate myself to finish up some of my sewing and crafting projects! Maybe if I know that I have to have something to post, I will get something done. I’ve got a TON of projects in suspension and a bunch more pinned. This is going to be good for both of us!

Today’s post is about my new addiction.

20160714_172506

When I a box with this symbol on my porch, I get as excited as a kid in a candy store because I know my Stitch-Fix has arrived!

20160714_172512

And when I open that box, oh the colors and the textures. It’s better than Christmas! Those 5 beautiful, quality made items of clothing peeking out at me have me squealing with joy and excitement!

I HATE shopping for clothes. Completely despise it. I can never find anything that fits right, I don’t know what colors/styles/cuts to buy. Enter Stitch Fix this neat company that takes the frustrating shopping part out of clothes shopping.

With Stitch Fix you set up a profile, answer questions about your clothing sizes, style preferences, color preferences, fit preferences, etc. You can even link to a Pinterest board with your favorite fashions if you wish. This information is provided to your personal stylist (my stylist’s name is Mandy) who will then go through the fashions, accessories and shoes available through Stitch Fix and choose beautiful clothing pieces for you, five in all.

After you select the date you wish to have your “fix” sent to you and pay a $25 fee (which will be applied to your order if you purchase anything) these picks are then sent to you where you can try them on in the privacy of your own home. That’s the part I LOVE the most! No weird lighting and if I want to see if a particular piece will go with something in my closet, I need only go upstairs and check!

Once you’ve made your decisions, you log onto your profile and select the pieces you wish to keep (there’s a 25% discount if you keep all 5) and check out, all from the comfort of your couch. Mail back what you don’t like in the provided return bag.

This is my second fix. I ended up sending 2 pieces back in the first one. I gave my stylist feedback on why I did not like the two pieces and told her what I loved about the pieces I was keeping. This information helped her improve the pics for this box, of which I kept all 5 pieces.

Cost might be pricey for some, this fix cost $229 for all 5 pieces, but you get quality pieces. I sold off some clothes that didn’t fit any more and a few other items that were taking up space around here and applied that to my fix! These nice pieces will blend nicely with clothing I already have AND they send you these nifty cards that give you ideas for things to pair with your pieces. I like to tuck these in my pocket and take them to the thrift stores to see what I can find!

20160714_172558

I’m very happy with my Stitch Fix this time. I told Mandy of my employment status change and about Pub Club, etc and she picked some fine and fun items. I love them and feel so pretty in clothes that fit well. I’m sure I will schedule another fix toward fall perhaps.

Stitch Fix

The shirts and the capri pants were 4 of my fixes. It became too windy to photograph outdoors by the time I got to my dress so that didn’t make the cut. If you are interested in getting your own Stitch Fix, just click on any of the highlighted Stitch Fix “hot” links in this story! When you do, I will get a $25 referral bonus to support my habit. 😉

Leave a Reply

