What’s For Dinner Wednesday!

This week’s menu planning has been a bit of a challenge. 4-H Fair begins next week and that means that we will be out on the fairgrounds for a lot of our meals. That’s not all bad, I mean, there’s food out there, but one can only eat so many Pronto Pups (Corn Dogs), french fries and Sloppy Joes before one loses her mind and gains back the weight she lost. With limited healthy choices available to us, I’m looking at packing some other food choices in a cooler full of ice. It should save us some money AND provide some options that will keep me on task.

Some of the things I think we will pack in include:

  • Sandwich supplies like lunch meats, cheeses, bread, tomato slices, lettuce, etc
  • Salad Fixings like lettuce, cherry tomatoes, diced carrots, green peppers, cucumbers, dried fruits, salad dressing
  • Fruits and veggies for snacking, including watermelon, which is always perfect in the heat of fair.
  • Nuts, popcorn and pretzels for crunching.

The key will be to pack just SOME of these things each day and only a few portions so that it will be easier to keep cool and we won’t have a lot of wasted food. So, much of the menu this week will be a la carte and healthy.

It should also help me continue this renewed downward trend!

20160720_060051.jpg

I finally moved the scale downward one entire pound! Yay! I’m not sure what exactly jump started the weight loss again, perhaps it’s all of that Pokemon searching, but I’m glad to be moving back down the scale again. I hate being stuck, whether it’s in my weight-loss, my thinking or just life in general.

Here’s a look at what’s on Momma T’s Table this week, or at least for those days when she will be home.

BREAKFASTS:

Sunday Brunch – Hash and eggs

Monday – Caitlin’s Fruity, Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Tuesday – Egg Sandwiches

Wednesday – Caitlin’s fruity, Oaty Bowl of Goodness

Thursday – 1/2 of a bagel and almond butter

Friday – Hard Boiled Egg and Hummus

Saturday – Poached Eggs and Toast

LUNCHES:

Monday – Pita, Hummus & Veggies

Tuesday – Fair

Wednesday – Fair

Thursday – Fair

Friday – Salad

Saturday – Big Sandwich

DINNERS:

Sunday – Chicken Burritos

Monday – Fair

Tuesday – Fair

Wednesday – Fair

Thursday – Fair

Friday – PUB CLUB!!!!

Saturday – Simple Summer Sandwich and Salad

I’m sure I will have some fair food somewhere in there, after all, who can resist a good corn dog? Oh…and the lemon shake-ups! I’ll have to have one of those. It will be nice to have these healthy and refreshing options though. I think I might just survive another fair.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz Greer-Hunt says:

    when we went to the Heart of Illinois fair, I ordered a lemonade shake-up and asked for 1/2 the usual amount of sugar. It tasted just fine and had much less sugar! Good job on the weight loss-you are rockin’ it!

    Like

    1. That’s not a bad idea! There would be more room for the vodka then. 😉 Just kidding. I may try that. I’m not sure if I would be able to get the same results though as the only food vendor at our fair is the 4-H Federation food stand and i don’t know if the kids taking the orders would actually be able to get the message through to the kitchen. We’ll see. Either way, one Lemon Shake-up, full sugar or not, is always in order for the 4-H Fair. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

