Monday Musings – End of Summer Bummer

We’ve hit the Dog Days of Summer. Those last days of warm rays and carefree days.

20160808_150648

 

Ernie has the right idea, not a care in the world. He’s certain that the DOG in “Dog Days” is all about him, and I envy him.

You see, when we hit August and all of the buzz of summer turns to preparations for the return to school, moving students off to college and the talk of apples, crisp weather and season premiers I get more than a little melancholy, baby. Why are we in such a hurry to get to the “next thing”?

I’m a girl of summer. I love the heat and the humidity. Like Ernie, I crave the rays and long to soak in their heat! Oh to be a dog in these dog days. Instead, I move into a panic mode and freak out about all of the things I need to get done before the snow flies. I think about how the sun is setting earlier and rising later every day. Actually I DWELL on these shortening of days. Instead of living in the moment I borrow sorrow from the future.

I once had a friend tell me that to get through this transitional time, I should embrace my inner pumpkin lover. I’m afraid I’m not much of a pumpkin lover…except pie, and then only at Thanksgiving and Christmas. Today, watching Ernie sun himself for the 500th time, I realized she was wrong. Instead of looking to the cooler months and finding some way to cope, I need to put my bare feet in the freshly mowed grass of the here and now and wiggle my toes in the cool, dewiness while the sun warms by back and shoulders. I need to LIVE in these last days of summer and now worry about what is ahead. Fall and Winter will come soon enough. They don’t need my help to hasten their pace.

I realize that there are many of you out there who look forward to these cooler days. To the crunch of leaves under your feet. To sweater weather and bonfires. Some of you are even looking way forward to the sn*w and the cold and I say more power to you! I hope that when your season gets here you revel in it and experience all it has to offer! I’ll be on my couch, drinking my weight in Chai Tea.

I’m a girl of Summer and my season isn’t over yet and I’m going to hold onto it like a toddler holds on to a temper tantrum, kicking and screaming all the way to the first leaf turns orange, Thankyousoverymuch! Maybe we should all take a page from Ernie’s book and relish the moments we are gifted. Just soak in the sun and not borrow worries from tomorrow.

Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of it’s own. – Matthew 6:34

I don’t know what your worry might be, but may I suggest that you take your shoes off and wiggle your toes in the grass of what is good and right in your life right now and let tomorrow worry for itself?

UPDATE: After posting this I saw a commercial for s’mores, another for back-to-school, and when I log onto Pinterest, the first thing I see is a recipe for “One Pan AUTUMN Chicken Dinner.” *sigh*

Leave a Reply

