Try It Tuesday – Too Much to Try

It’s 8:22 a.m. and while fussing about what I would blog on this Try It Tuesday, I’ve gotten dressed, brushed my teeth and my hair, eaten breakfast, checked on my wine project and worked on my Thread It Up project for Thursday! The dishwasher has been run, dinner is in the crock pot and the laundry is done!

Wait, what’s that? I have to actually put the laundry IN the washer first? OK, so the laundry isn’t done, but I DID run water and soap through a complete cycle. Doesn’t that count for something?

Today’s Try It Tuesday is about the fact that I’m trying to do too much. I’m sure it’s not what you expected, but I’m also sure many of you have been here before. I know I have. Too many irons in the fire. Too much to do and not enough time to get it done.

That’s me. This week in addition to the usual cleaning, which is not getting done the way I want it to get done, I’m trying to get ready for my Blackberry Margarita Bash on Friday, organize the storage closet, and organize my sewing mess. It’s out of control! I’m driven to distraction! I’m drowning in a sea of my own ambition!

Take the laundry…please. OK, I went in and set the water to running and poured in the detergent, when Eartha Kitt-E hopped up on the dryer for a little breakfast. I took this as an opportunity to brush our sweet kitten’s fur in this rare moment when she was still. Also, it’s one more thing off the check list! After a quick brush, I realized that the water was still running, but I hadn’t gotten the clothes. I closed the lid so that Eartha wouldn’t fall in (safety first!) and…well, I don’t know what happened next, but it wasn’t clothes for the washer.

Thing is, somewhere in between all of the other things, I was pretty sure that I had not only loaded the washing machine, but unloaded it to the dryer. The absence of the dryer’s tumbling lead me to believe that the dryer had finished and I could fold and put away that laundry. Load for the day done! But when I checked that silent dryer, it was cold and empty. Drat! Must have forgotten to switch the laundry. Lifting the lid, I found it too was cold and empty. Damp, but cold and empty. This left me feeling cold and empty too.

20160809_081634

Perhaps I need more sleep? Perhaps less to do? More than likely I need to lower my expectations of what I can do in a day. At any rate, on this Try It Tuesday, I’m going to try to focus on one thing at a time and get something done. Or maybe I’ll try a nap…but first, I need to find the drill.

Leave a Reply

