Try It Tuesday

Hi there. It’s me. I do still exist. I’ve been up to my neck in canning produce and other things.

This past week has been a tough one for many people we know and care about. Some of our dear friends and family members are going through unimaginably painful, horrific things and watching helplessly as they shoulder their burdens weighs heavily on my heart. Watching some of these issues being played out on social media only adds to the pain I feel for them, so much so that I have put myself on a facebook diet for an indefinite amount of time.

This time has given me time to think about a lot of things, namely how we as a society, myself included, have forgotten the golden rule, “Do unto others as you would have others do unto you.” We’ve become all too quick to judge and very slow to think about what our words might mean to the person on the other side. Even if we aren’t directly addressing them, the rumor mill, social media, even the media itself has a way of getting our words to the people we may be making judgments about. I know, I’ve been on both sides of this issue.

So this Try It Tuesday I ask  you, if I may, to try something; try to see every issue you encounter from the other side before you comment, repeat what you heard or speculate on a situation. Try on the other person’s shoes if you will. Consider that there could be circumstances you couldn’t possibly know or understand. Consider that while your point of view is your opinion and as an opinion it has it’s merit, it is not the whole story and other’s opinions may not align with it and THAT’S OKAY.

We share cyberspace, the world and our communities with billions of other people and every one of them has an opinion. As someone once said, “Opinions are like assholes, everyone has one.” Crass as it might be, it is true and every opinion is not going to fit with ours. We have to adapt to the world around us and give others the grace to think what they do, based on their own experiences, circumstances, inclinations, feelings, past…whatever brought them to their way of thinking. After all, don’t we want the same from everyone else?

Does this mean that we can’t voice our differences of opinion? No, that’s not what I’m saying at all. All I’m asking is to remember a lesson my music teacher taught us in the early years of school. “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.” Think about what you will say and ask yourself if it is the best way it can be said before you go in half blind and show your…opinion.

Go on, try it. I dare you.

Leave a Reply

